This Should Make You Feel Better

PC080057

This would be a cinch to take down!

It’s 2 PM, PST on January 18th, 2013 and I just now got the ornaments off the tree and packed up. The artificial tree is still up but I’ll need my husband’s help wrestling it into the box. I’ve never put it up or taken it down so this was a first for me.

I’m not one of those people who keep a tree up all year. I was out-of-state and away from my family over Christmas and when I got back on the 4th I was in the early stages of this fun, fun flu that is going around. I finally started feeling well this week and had a chance today to get hip-deep into the tree dismantling without help from our granddaughter.

It’s done.

Have you recovered from the holidays? How many little do-dads have you found lying around after-the-fact? Do you decorate for Valentine’s Day? Spring? Give us a little peek into the well-decorated home.

Have a great weekend.

Take care–Susan Kaye

About Susan Kaye

Writer who avoids writing and a foodie who dislikes cooking.
This entry was posted in Humor, Susan Kaye and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to This Should Make You Feel Better

  1. Robin Helm says:

    I started taking my tree down yesterday, and I’m going to finish the job tomorrow. I really am.

    I leave small nativities and angels up all year, because I like them, and I can do that.

  2. Sophia Rose says:

    I do a three month rotation of my seasonal decorations so most of my stuff stays out because its snowman and the like. I leave my specific Christmasy stuff up for a few weeks past Christmas because I don’t usually get it up until half way through December. And ugh, I always find that I left something out after I’ve packed up the box into the loft storage.

    • Susan Kaye says:

      I’m in awe of anyone who can keep track of the seasons much less decorate for them. And as for leaving things out, I had little wooden reindeer out all last year because I didn’t want to dig the box out of the basement and put them away.

      We live in the country. I said they were “rustic chic.”

      Thanks for stopping by, Sophia.

  3. Laura Hile says:

    You are not alone! In the upstairs hallway are boxes of Christmas stuff, waiting—since Jan 3rd—to be put up in the closet. Such strain, putting boxes on a top shelf.

    And this morning I notice in my email box that Al’s Garden Center has marked their remaining Christmas merchandise down to 75% off.

    So most of us take a little time to tidy up from Christmas, yes …

    And reindeer decor is certainly appropriate for a woman who has her own herd of elk lurking about on the lawn. If the pasture can be called the lawn. No, hang on. It’s called a park, not a pasture. :)

  4. Susan Kaye says:

    They were yelling at one another as I recall. The herd–up to 44 this year–is without a bull and some of the less males are in the process of sorting themselves out.

    I’m waiting for them to come up the stairs and ask for a bucket of water.

  5. Robin Helm says:

    Oh, my goodness! I think we’re rural because the occasional rabbit runs through our yard. That’s living on the wild side, Susan.

    • Laura Hile says:

      She’s on 80 acres, Robin. And beyond that mist is a valley vista that takes the breath away.

    • Susan Kaye says:

      Years ago, when my husband left for work at four in the morning, there were times of the year when the elk were bugling and the coyotes were yelping and it sounded like people were being murdered outside. It still goes on I’m sure, I just sleep through it now.

      • Robin Helm says:

        I sleep through so many things now. If I hear a noise in the house, instead of being afraid, I am likely to think, “Just come on in and help me get to heaven faster.” Ha!

        • Susan Kaye says:

          I’m still clinging to my gun–so to speak–when I hear all the night noises around here. And there are lots of them.

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

