I Really Hate Word 2007

WORDLate last summer my mother gave me a great computer. On it was loaded Word 2007. She’s complained about it for several years. I’d used it once and disliked it but that was when I was not its owner and could go home and use my antiquated version of Word. Now that I have the computer and it &^%$#&*&$@%^&* version of Word 2007, I am at my wit’s end.

I closed down A Plan of His Own Making Friday. I made a copy on a second flash drive. I went about my business over the weekend, proud that I’d written 5000 new words that week.

Monday, I opened the file and things were fine. 1000 words written. Yesterday I got 533 words and today intended on making them up. I opened Word *&%*$ and found that the spell check feature won’t work.

I have been fiddling with it for hours now and it still won’t work.

This is the sort of nit picking thing that keeps me from writing.

I HATE WORD 2007.

UPDATE  I’ve made up Tuesday’s and Wednesday’s word counts so all I have now is today’s 1000 words. I’ve created another .doc so it’s being spell checked as I write and I’ll put it in the complete doc when I get finished in a few days. Writers are odd ducks. Quack to you all. ;-)

Take care–Susan Kaye

About Susan Kaye

Writer who avoids writing and a foodie who dislikes cooking.
This entry was posted in Humor, Susan Kaye, The Writing Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I Really Hate Word 2007

  1. tgruy says:

    Have you tried to find help on Google? Try typing “spell checker don’t work word 2007″ maybe you can find something to fix it…

  2. Susan Kaye says:

    Thanks, tgruy. I’ve tried my usual suspects. I’m trying to ignore it all and then will cut and paste the document into another word processing program hoping to edit it.

    Gah.

  3. Gayle Mills says:

    Technology… ah… everything in education now revolves around it. All of my textbooks are now available to the kids on-line. They don’t even need to take the book home. And if they have a problem with homework, they just click on the video next to it. If they need a graphing calculator, they just pull down the tools menu.

    And I am such an old dog, trying to learn new tricks. It has been a difficult year for this old lady. But I do try to keep up, and once I use a new “thing” a time or two, I’m on my way to the comfort zone.

    You’ll adjust. You’re a bright woman. Don’t you feel sorry for all the women who aren’t?

    • Susan Kaye says:

      I’ve tried several sites that tell me how to use this version when the version is working correctly. It’s acting up and there are no troubleshooting guides to fix. I’m considering downloading Open Office. Grrr.

  4. Robin Helm says:

    If all else fails, send me your chapter and let me spell check it. Don’t let it stop you from writing. ; )

  5. Susan Kaye says:

    Ha! It’s the whole document. I write in one big, long doc. This is just so annoying. I know when they say that electronics can only respond to what we do, but in this case, I didn’t do anything!

    Sigh.

    I have switched to an ergonomic keyboard. I had one years and years ago so maybe the enjoyment will get me back at it this evening.

    Thanks ladies.

  6. Laura Hile says:

    My ancient version of Word (2000?) isn’t supported by my new laptop, so I’ve soldiered on with Open Office. One day I will certainly purchase a newer version of Word, but comments like yours, Susan, scare me. :) I hope you’re able to get the bugs ironed out.

    • Susan Kaye says:

      Nope, the bugs are still wrinkly. I figured out a work around by making another document to finish the novel. But, eventually, I have have to merge them. I will have back up docs at the ready when the first attempts fails.

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

