Shoo, flu, don’t bother me!

1Women436

“It sometimes happens, that a woman is handsomer at twenty-nine than she was ten years before; and, generally speaking, if there has been neither ill health nor anxiety, it is a time of life at which scarcely any charm is lost. It was so with Elizabeth…”

In other words, Persuasion’s Elizabeth Elliot probably never had the flu.

I wish I could say the same for myself.

Not that I’ve lost any of my “charm.” But it’s taken weeks and weeks and weeks to feel like myself again. A symptom of a larger problem? Such as, growing old?

As the years pass I find myself in the uncomfortable position of agreeing with the always-young Sir Walter (!), whose age (54) I now share.

Stay well, friends. Spring is on the way, but I’m told that the flu season is still in full swing.

18 thoughts on “Shoo, flu, don’t bother me!

  1. I managed to beat it in seven days, and am now beating back a cold brought home to me by my daughter. Kids, what are you going to do?

    Stay well everyone.

  2. It’s a boomarang situation this winter. I’ve watched students go round and round. The key seems to be rest, which is what I’ve had to do after school and on weekends. After a while, though, even lying on the sofa watching quirky French movies on Netflix lose its appeal. :/

    The stunner today had nothing to do with being sick. I am Sir Walter’s age! This was not the case in 1999 when I first discovered Austen fiction on the web. It comes to all of us in the end …

    • But you’re his age in the book. Sir Walter kept aging just like the rest of us so he’s over 200 years old now.

      Quirky French films, eh? Sounds fun.

    • The trouble with the flu is that it acts like a cold … at first. And then it takes forever to go away. This is the second time in my life that I’ve had the flu. I’ll wait another 30 years with pleasure.

      Thanks for the good wishes. I’m daring to think I’m back to normal! :)

      Starting to write again, anyway…

    • Thanks for the prayers, Gayle. I am feeling MUCH better. (Like you, I’ll feel even more so after the last day of school, ha!)

      (Patrick O’Manly is giving me fits, though. And so is Elizabetha. Grrr… On the other hand, I have the manuscript file open, so at least I am aware of it. :) )

    • Oh no, Robin. I hate that, too. The key to recovery is rest—lying around on the sofa—which none of us has time for! Like a quarantine, only up for work and that’s it.

      Most things can slide for a week around the house. Except grocery shopping. We had an odd assortment come in to the house while I was down.

    • O’Manly’s not the problem, Gayle. I’ve got my installment featuring him all ready to go. It’s Elizabetha, she’s giving me fits. Or rather my clunky writing is giving me fits. I’m missing something, there’s clanking. In the words and flow, not clanking of pirate chains!

      I’ve been working on Elizabetha’s installment a little every day. I will figure out what needs adjustment! :)

    • She’s not exactly conflicted, Gayle. :) Just harassed.

      By her father, her godmother, the demands of life on the “outside” … everything. So many of her ideas come from books, and she’s accustomed to a solitary life. Her father and godmother won’t stop talking! And dragging her here and there.

      So it’s a building installment, setting up the state of her emotions and nerves when she arrives at the massive party. I think you’ll like the way it ends. I just have to get there (without boring the reader with a bunch of “telling” stuff). O’Manly? He’s raring to go, ready to scale the palace walls!

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

