Pattinson likes us! He really likes us!

Robert Pattinson“If you find a girl who reads, keep her close. When you find her up at 2 AM clutching a book to her chest and weeping, make her a cup of tea and hold her. You may lose her for a couple of hours, but she will always come back to you. She’ll talk as if the characters in the book are real, because for a while, they always are. Date a girl who reads because you deserve it. You deserve a girl who can give you the most colorful life imaginable.” - Robert Pattinson.

I’m not a huge fan of Pattinson, though I have enjoyed the Twilight movies; however, I’m a bigger fan since I read this quote. Additionally, he said, “If you took away publicists and things and people spoke for themselves, then they’d have to be responsible for their words.” I like that. It’s very sensible. That’s why the speeches actors give at awards shows are so terrible – they try to make up the words themselves instead of merely memorizing someone else’s words.

On “Jimmy Kimmel Live,” Pattinson revealed that he had recently purchased a car for $2,500 off Craigslist. Get this: the Chevy Silverado pickup truck is over a decade old. “I got a 2001 Silverado. It’s beautiful. Solid car,” Pattinson said, noting, “I buy everything off Craigslist. Every single car that I’ve bought.”

He’s rich, handsome, and thrifty, as well as being a man who admires intelligent women. Hmmmm.

I have to admit, he’s said some fairly stupid things, too, but we’ll save those for another day. For today, we won’t worry about his comments concerning his lack personal hygiene. For today, we’ll just be happy that there is a young, famous, humble guy out there who likes US – the women who read.

Which Austen man should he play? I think he should be a hero, though he has the whole smouldering thing down and would make a wonderful Wickham or Henry Crawford. He’s moody, so Darcy is not out of the question. What do you think?

About Robin Helm

Robin Helm has published all three volumes of The Guardian Trilogy: Guardian, SoulFire, and Legacy. She has also published two books in her new Yours by Design Series: Accidentally Yours and Sincerely Yours. She is presently posted the third book, Forever Yours, on BeyondAusten.com and plans to publish it in late winter or early spring. She and her husband have two adult daughters, one son-in-law, one prospective son-in-law, and two dogs - a Yorkie, Tobey, and a Maltese teacup, Chloe.
This entry was posted in Austen Actors, Austen men, Humor, Oh my, QUESTION, Quirky news items, Robin Helm, Romance and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Pattinson likes us! He really likes us!

  1. Susan Kaye says:

    He’s pretty versatile. His Cedric Diggory in Harry Potter, The Goblet of Fire was very Frederick-like, self-deprecating and humorous. Definitely NOT my idea of Knightley, Edward Ferras, or Col Brandon.

    William Elliot! Now there’s an Austen character he could sink his teeth into!

  2. Robin Helm says:

    William Elliot! Excellent! There has never been a really handsome, strong man to play the part. I like it. He could turn Anne’s head and make Elizabeth jealous.

    • Susan Kaye says:

      Pattinson has that cool-eyed, always-observing-engaging-only-if-necessary look. And his looks would be a match for anyone cast as Sir Walter. OR Frederick.

  3. Robin Helm says:

    Agreed. Let’s call up the casting people.

  4. Susan Kaye says:

    Despite your pull with heavenly beings, I’m not sure that we have the sort of clout necessary to make this happen. Maybe this needs to be my next writing project.

  5. Robin Helm says:

    He would give you a great model to work with. However, If Yours by Design is picked up for a movie, I’m suggesting Pattinson for the lead. Since it would be a Hallmark movie, he’d probably turn it down.

  6. Sophia Rose says:

    I saw this quote too and I confess that my first reaction was to doubt that he said that, but I’m all for giving him the benefit of the doubt. :) I’m probably stretching it, but I’d like to see just how good he is at acting and vote for Edmund in Mansfield Park or Edward in Sense and Sensibility.

    • Robin Helm says:

      I checked before I wrote the piece. This quote is attributed to Pattinson on at least three reputable sites. It appears that he did, indeed, use his brain that day. ; )

      Edmund needs a shot. There has never been a really great Edmund, in my opinion. Dan Stevens set the bar for Edward. I don’t think Pattinson could improve on Stevens.

  7. Pamela Aidan says:

    I’d like to see him tackle Henry Crawford/Mansfield Park. The range of the character is challenging, calling for more than just good looks. Yes, Henry Crawford’s the ticket…as long as the screenwriter really DOES Mansfield Park and not something corrupted or dumbed-down for modern tastes.

    • Robin Helm says:

      I agree. The last version of Mansfield Park was horrible. We’re due for a good one, and Pattinson would fill the bill nicely. Crawford is sneaky, manipulative, vain, secretive, handsome, and wealthy. I think we’ve found our boy.

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

