Laughing Happiness

“I am the happiest creature in the world. Perhaps other people have said so before, but not one with such justice. I am happier even than Jane; she only smiles, I laugh.”


Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

Ben-Jess-engagement-alexgracephotography

I pause to smile at my son and his darling fiancée, examples of Austen’s laughing happiness.

This afternoon Alexandra Grace Photography put up a preview of their engagement photo session. If you’ve been on Facebook, perhaps you’ve seen these. If not, here’s the link for a peek at the collection.

It’s hard to pick a favorite. But this black and white one where they’re longboarding together in downtown, hand in hand, captures them perfectly. Moving forward they are, and having a marvelous time.

10 thoughts on “Laughing Happiness

    • I brought up the “Why fool yourself?” point regarding marriage and babies to Ben before he proposed—they have two years of schooling left. “Mom,” he said, “we aren’t stupid!”

      Like it was so obvious that children were a long way off. We shall see! :)

  1. My dear friend, I am so happy for you and your family. They make a lovely couple, and I second Gayle’s sentiments. The pictures are marvelous!

  2. They are each involved in Christian ministry on campus, which the photos cannot show. I’m happy for them, and also a little apprehensive at the hard lessons they’ll have to learn. The same ones each generation of men and women have had to learn…we can’t spare our children.

    But for now, I put those thoughts aside and smile.

  3. They grew up right alongside us. We fool ourselves thinking that we can save them from heartache and pain. Definitely enjoy this time.

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

