Signs of Spring

Robin Redbreast
Spring is a time of reawakening. Flowers begin to peek out from their winter hiding places, and birds call in our rural yard. Randy Hudson, a local photographer, took the picture of the robin for me. I always looks for robins at this time of year.

My younger daughter is on spring break from her teaching job, and she decided that her little apartment needed a new face as well. We have spent the time together selecting colors and accessories, taping, and painting. I’ll post some “after” pictures later this week, but I think she’s going to enjoy the new look. My older daughter had originally decorated the rooms according to her own tastes, and the two girls are very different.

While we watch new life spring from the ground, and we plunge into spring cleaning and refurbishing, we might want to examine our inner selves, too. Easter is a celebration of the resurrection of Christ, and it always turns my mind to new life. Just as Mel’s room will be the same, but a better picture of the woman she has become, I want to do a better job of reflecting Christ through my life. I want the difference in me to be noticeable.

John 3:30 says, “He must increase, but I must decrease.” That is my prayer for this time of reawakening.

7 thoughts on “Signs of Spring

  1. It’s all about renewal. We renew our minds by throwing out the vestiges of our worldliness and bringing into focus our reliance on Christ, the One in whom we breathe and grow.

  2. I’ve been re-evaluating lots of things. My brother is getting married this weekend so it’s a time to consider how my marriage started out, and how glad I am I hung on during all those times I wanted to run and hide.

    • I think we’ve all had those moments, Susan. I’m glad I hung in there, too. It will be 37 years in July.

  3. I should be thinking about spiritual renewal, and cleaning. And having excitement about a new book project in the works? But all I can think about is how tired I am, how fleeting life is, and how fragile our fellow humans are.

    “Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden,” Jesus said, “and I will give you rest.”

    O happy day. :)

  4. Pingback: Spring is around…. | Zara ~ a writing story

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

