National Truffles Day – Make Your Own

Truffles!

Truffles!

Today is nearly over here in South Carolina, but I just had to wish you Happy Truffles Day! If you have these few ingredients, you can make your own. You have fewer than five hours left, so you’d better start now.

1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, softened

3 cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted

3 cups semisweet chocolate chips, melted

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

In a large bowl, beat cream cheese until smooth. Gradually beat in confectioners’ sugar until well blended. Stir in melted chocolate and vanilla until no streaks remain. Refrigerate for about 1 hour. Shape into 1 inch balls.

You can roll the balls in chopped nuts, confectioners’ sugar, melted chocolate, or cocoa.

By now, you’ve probably figured out that I’m referring to candy, not mushrooms. At least, I hope you have.

Truffles - mushrooms

Truffles – mushrooms

There is quite a difference! The candy is romantic and delicious – the mushrooms, not so much.

I think I just gained five pounds.

6 thoughts on “National Truffles Day – Make Your Own

  1. Truffles are beautiful — mushrooms, not so much. The recipe doesn’t sound very complicated either. Since the math department teachers are serving desserts on Monday to the 90 people on staff at CHS, I might have to try my hand at these little babies.

    • I put up a pic with a website so that readers could look there for more recipes if they want them. The recipe I used is from a professional chef, so they should be good. Go for it!

  2. I’ve never eaten the fungus truffles, but to hear foodie Italians talk, they are ambrosia. I’m not a big fan of chocolate either, and might take the fungus depending on the time of day. That being said, now and then your truffles might be just the thing to quiet the roar of the sweet tooth.

    Thanks, Robin.

  3. I know. I read about the fungus truffles before I posted this. There are many different kinds, but they all look disgusting to me.

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

