Here at JSI

we’ve decided to go with monthly themes. The bottom line is that most of us are teachers and by this time of year, the end of the school year is in sight, and no one has the cognitive ability to do much of anything outside the routine. We thought themes might gives us a leg up when it comes to blog posts.

Anyway, May is Food Month here at JSI. Not every post will be food oriented, but most will be. And who knows if “food” means the stuff you eat. We’ll have a better idea of how this goes in June. ;-)

Another idea we thought might inspire us was writing drabbles. Drabbles are a short story form of a specific number of words or less. On the now defunct site Firthness, they used 100 words and I thought it would be fun to bring back this exercise.

If you would like to join in, leave your drabble in the comments and it will be moved up to the post.

The “rules” are:

  • 100 words or less
  • Incorporates the monthly theme (May is food)
  • Leave a word or phrase at the end as a clue for the next drabbler

We promise that all copyrights will always remain with the author. Leaving a drabble in the comments section is your permission for us to use it in the context of this blog only. You may request removal at any time.

Now that I’ve induced sleep all over the world, here’s my food drabble:

Bribery

“I’m sorry, Frederick. Karen’s not so … she’s different at work,” Harville said.

“I get it. It was the promise of Ellie’s creamy, gooey, fat-laced macaroni and cheese that got me to say yes, not the hope of meeting the future Mrs. Wentworth.”

“I know. I told her you were wavering on the blind date idea, so she upped the ante.”

“She bribed me with the promise of chocolate truffle, cherry cheesecake for dessert.”

“It’s magic. I proposed after one piece.”

“Too bad your lady friend thought the saga of her tattoo was good dessert talk.”

“Sorry again.”

Here are new contributions. The first from Robin Helm:

As he watched Elizabeth talking with Charlotte Lucas across the room, Darcy knew he had spoken too loudly. She must have overheard me say that she was tolerable, but not handsome enough to tempt me. How shall I redeem myself in her eyes?

He exited the room quickly and summoned his coachman, giving him explicit instructions.

Before the evening was over, he was standing before Elizabeth, wearing a smile and holding a plate of chocolate covered strawberries.

She raised an eyebrow in question.

“These are for you with my sincerest apologies for my boorish behavior. My sister, Georgiana, has a particular fondness for such treats. I hoped that my gift would prove how sorry I am. Will you accept it?”

She considered his words and the delicacies. “Only if you will share them with me.”

And another, connected to the above, by Gayle Mills:

Hateful, hateful man. What care I of his opinion of me? I will not long sit for lack of a partner. And where is he off to now? Can he not even abide my presence in the same room?

Later…

Strawberries? Chocolate? What is he up to? Does he think my forgiveness can be purchased so cheaply? Resentment or strawberries? Anger or chocolate? Oh, the temptations one must face to save dignity?

“…Will you accept it?”

Will I?

“Anger and resentment are cold company, sir.” But strawberries and chocolate… So pleasant on the tongue. Bursts of pleasure. Unknown delights await.

For the next drabble, Anne.
Have a great weekend.

Take care–Susan Kaye

About Susan Kaye

Writer who avoids writing and a foodie who dislikes cooking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Here at JSI

  1. Gayle Mills says:

    Did the dessert talk of tattoos come with a visual treat, as well?

    • Susan Kaye says:

      No idea, but that line is far more amusing when you hearken back to a time before Google could tell us all about horrible tat locales.

  2. Robin Helm says:

    As he watched Elizabeth talking with Charlotte Lucas across the room, Darcy knew he had spoken too loudly. She must have overheard me say that she was tolerable, but not handsome enough to tempt me. How shall I redeem myself in her eyes?

    He exited the room quickly and summoned his coachman, giving him explicit instructions.

    Before the evening was over, he was standing before Elizabeth, wearing a smile and holding a plate of chocolate covered strawberries.

    She raised an eyebrow in question.

    “These are for you with my sincerest apologies for my boorish behavior. My sister, Georgiana, has a particular fondness for such treats. I hoped that my gift would prove how sorry I am. Will you accept it?”

    She considered his words and the delicacies. “Only if you will share them with me.”

  3. Gayle Mills says:

    Hateful, hateful man. What care I of his opinion of me? I will not long sit for lack of a partner. And where is he off to now? Can he not even abide my presence in the same room?

    Later…

    Strawberries? Chocolate? What is he up to? Does he think my forgiveness can be purchased so cheaply? Resentment or strawberries? Anger or chocolate? Oh, the temptations one must face to save dignity?

    “…Will you accept it?”

    Will I?

    “Anger and resentment are cold company, sir.” But strawberries and chocolate… So pleasant on the tongue. Bursts of pleasure. Unknown delights await.

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

