Don’t miss International No-Diet Day!

chocolateMay is National Strawberry Month (as well as Hamburger Month, Asparagus Month, Salad Month, and Salsa Month), and my mind naturally turned to one of the celebrated foods of love – chocolate covered strawberries. Of course I would take a perfectly healthy fruit, which tingles the taste buds and makes a beautiful appearance in its natural state, and advocate dipping it in a calorie-laden, high-fat food, designed specifically to please the palate in every way. Come to think of it, that makes perfect sense. Chocolate is a tasty metaphor for those first giddy months of young love. I’ll let you ponder that on your own.

The really good news is that today is International No-Diet Day. Folks, that’s an international day, not just a national day. It’s practically a mandate! In honor of the day, I’m going to ditch the strawberries (too healthy) and go with the chocolate. Mother’s Day is coming up this Sunday, so I can have what I want all week. Right?

Here’s my chocolate drabble, and it’s true!

She loved him beyond all reason and thought she knew him better than she knew anyone else, but when he presented her with her Christmas present, she was truly puzzled. A gift bag full of Hershey kisses? That’s my Christmas present? Oh, well. I love him for his beautiful soul and sweet spirit, not for what I can get from him.Hershey kisses

He was unusually excited and eager when he gave her the bag, so she smiled, trying to please him.

“Kisses? Thank you, Boo! I love chocolate, and kisses from you are always wonderful.”

His delight showed in his smile. “The kisses are not the gift, silly. Look in the bag.”

She raked her hands through the candies and found a box and a card. The card read, I know how much you love kisses, so here are 356, one for every day I’ve known you.

When she opened the box, she found a beautiful watch, and she adored it, but she realized that the true gift was a loving man who would think of such a way to present it to her. All that was left for her to do was to find a proper way to express her thanks, and she did.

About Robin Helm

Robin Helm has published all three volumes of The Guardian Trilogy, Guardian, SoulFire, and Legacy. She has also published two Regency short stories. She and her husband have two daughters, the elder a Navy nurse stationed in Guam and deployed aboard the USMS Mercy, and the younger a fourth grade teacher. They live in South Carolina with their Yorkie, Tobey, Maltese teacup, Chloe. Ms. Helm graduated with a BA from Piedmont International University. She is a member of the Delta Epsilon Chi honor society, the American Legion Auxiliary, and the scholarship faculty of the United States Achievement Academy.
This entry was posted in FOOD, Foods, Holiday, Humor, I Would Do Anything for Love, International Days, It's personal, National Days, Robin Helm, Romance, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Don’t miss International No-Diet Day!

  1. brownieboxblog says:

    Wow! I didn’t know there is such a great food day! haha

    • Robin Helm says:

      That’s what I’m here for – to give you valid reasons to eat what you want and enjoy it! Ha!

      Thanks for stopping by, brownieblog.

  2. Susan Kaye says:

    HA! The irony here is that I have to start a diet. And I have to start it today.

    Figures.

    • Robin Helm says:

      Today – on International No-Diet Day? Say it ain’t so, Susan.

      • Susan Kaye says:

        Normally I have no willpower, but when there is a chance to be internationally contrary–which suits my nature just fine–I think I have to take the plunge.

        Don’t you?

        Maybe tomorrow I will declare it to be International Broken Diet Day.

        Wait, I better see if there’s a day for that already.

        • Robin Helm says:

          Show the cosmos what you’re made of, Susan! I’m cheering for you. (Now where did I put my apple crisp?)

          • Susan Kaye says:

            Okay, I had breakfast–Cheerios and milk–and now dinner–we eat at noon–so it’s just the equivalent of lunch this evening.

            The eyes of the world are on me. *gulp*

  3. Gayle Mills says:

    I thought every day was No Diet Day.

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

