Super? I think so!

Two phenomena - supermoon and Superman!

Two phenomena – supermoon and Superman!

This past Sunday morning at 7 AM EST, the moon reached the closest point in its elliptical orbit around our planet, and it hit the peak of its full phase a little more than a half-hour later producing a “supermoon.” The phenomenon causes the moon to appear fourteen percent larger and thirty percent brighter than an ordinary full moon. According to mythology, a supermoon is associated with strange natural occurrences, such as earthquakes, tsunamis, and werewolves, but really it’s just a good excuse for gazing into the heavens. The last one was in 1993.

I read that there is an ancient yoga technique involving steady gazing which has been practiced for thousands of years by the adepts of India. It is called “trataka” and is believed to provide incredible benefits to those who practice it regularly. Healing of the eyes, clarity of the mind, and increased psychic abilities are among the supposed perks. Rather than practicing trataka on a candle flame, a black dot on a white wall, or a flower, I suggest staring at the moon. The supermoon this past weekend provided a unique opportunity for gazing that possibly could have induced superman-like qualities. My husband and daughter do yoga a few times a week, but he was at a meeting last night from 6:30 until 8:00 – too late for me to shove him outdoors and tell him to stare at the supermoon. The next one won’t be until August 2014, but I’ll be ready.

Wait! What is that flying across the supermoon? It’s a bird! It’s a plane! It’s . . . Henry Cavill! Gayle and I went to see this last Saturday. Don’t believe the critics; hie thee to a theater near you. It’s definitely worth the ticket price.

Henry Cavill as Superman

Henry Cavill as Superman

Somebody should make another miniseries pronto, starring Henry as Darcy before he ages out of the role. Everyone in favor, raise your hand. Both of mine are waving.

About Robin Helm

Robin Helm has published all three volumes of The Guardian Trilogy: Guardian, SoulFire, and Legacy. She has also published two books in her new Yours by Design Series: Accidentally Yours and Sincerely Yours. She is presently posted the third book, Forever Yours, on BeyondAusten.com and plans to publish it in late winter or early spring. She and her husband have two adult daughters, one son-in-law, one prospective son-in-law, and two dogs - a Yorkie, Tobey, and a Maltese teacup, Chloe.
This entry was posted in Beauty in the everyday, Cinema, Deep Stuff, Eye Candy, Humor, I Would Do Anything for Love, Love and marriage, Nature, Oh my, Robin Helm, Romance, That's entertainment! and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Super? I think so!

  1. Susan Kaye says:

    We got the super moon here in my slice of Oregon on Friday night only. It was massive, hanging out in my backyard for what seemed like forever. Saturday was overcast. It peaked out a couple of times and with the bats flying back and forth it look very arty. Last night was rained out completely.

    As for Superman, I may buy it when it comes out. We’ll have to see how the budget survives the summer.

  2. Robin Helm says:

    The moon was beautiful here.

    With theater prices being what they are now, I am very choosy about which movies I go to see. Superman got the nod because I wanted to see it on the big screen. The CGI was wonderful, and so much was going on that the movie is just better in the theater. That being said, I’m going to buy it as soon as it comes out.

    There were two seats by Gayle and me, and two young men asked me if they were taken. I told him they weren’t, but I added that they should know we were huge Henry Cavill fans. One of them asked, “Who’s Henry Cavill?” What?!!! I didn’t even have a coherent reply. Has he lived under a rock for the past couple of years. Young people today! smh

  3. Gayle Mills says:

    I’m signing onto the Henry as Darcy thing. A few authors have already identified their modern Darcys as Henry. I’ve followed his career for the past 11 years. He just gets better looking with age. And he seems to be a genuinely nice guy.

  4. Meredith (Austenesque Reviews) says:

    Waving both my hands too!

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

