“You look great for your age …”

Effects by BeFunky.com

The effects hide the wrinkles nicely

 

Anne Elliot was born August 9, 1787. Were she alive, aside from being a living miracle, she’d be 226 years old.

Austen gave us a portrait of a woman trapped by the conventions of her time, with little hope for better. The fairytale of Persuasion begins when the man she’s loved for years, unexpectedly steps back into her life. The culmination of the story is a heartfelt letter of pure romantic affection and humility.

But here’s the real question, if Anne was alive today would she use a Mac or a PC?

Which reality shows would she watch?

Coke or Pepsi?

I’m sure there are other burning questions you all have about a 21st century Anne.

Let’s hear them!

 

9 thoughts on ““You look great for your age …”

  1. Yes, the sepia treatment is wonderful at hiding signs of age! That picture is evocative and beautiful.

    I have an installment going up this morning at Beyond Austen. As I work, I will muse over Anne’s modern day preferences. Poor Anne is so reserved in public, so careful. It would be much easier, for instance, to guess Sir Walter’s or Elizabeth’s favorites.

    Perhaps that is the wonder of Frederick Wentworth. He alone encourages Anne to step out, to be a little daring.

    • I’ve been looking for that installment. I’ve got my eye on you. ; )

      I don’t think Anne would watch reality shows. They are too intrusive, and as a reserved person, I doubt she would want to know everyone’s personal details.

      • You’d think, but she and Mrs. Smith do a little rough gossip on Mr. Elliot’s late wife. I think there’s part of Annie dear who would like watching one or two of these moral monstrosities and saying to herself, “At least I’m not THAT bad!” I think I’d like her a little better for it in fact.

  2. In quickly writing this post–I fell into the way of the Elliots and forgot all about Anne’s birthday until this morning–I had trouble figuring the either/or choices. But I do think it would be interesting if Anne (and Frederick) were around to give us their 19th century perspective on things like Kim and Kanye and West. Or any of the “Housewives of” shows. In particular, I’d like to get their take on Honey Boo Boo.

    What I really want, is SIR WALTER’S take on the whole Honey Boo Boo family. I’m sure his observations about June (Honey’s mom) would be very interesting.

    • Sir Walter’s take would be hilarious, but I don’t think Anne and Frederick would know who Honey Boo Boo is. I barely know. I’m fairly bored with TV now. We DVR the few things we want to watch.

      Anne might like the cooking shows my hubs records, but as I’ve never watched “Housewives,” “Bachelors,” or “Bachelorettes” of any sort, I can’t think she’d like them. I’ve been on a reality show, and it is nothing like reality. They do take after take until they get someone to say or do what they want. I thank God regularly that our episode never showed in the U.S.

      • I don’t watch any of the above mentioned shows–we don’t have cable or sat TV–but I know about them. Just the premise alone of Reality TV is voyeuristic and weird, but interesting more for what it may say about the viewer than the participants.

    • One observation, I do think that Frederick would like the now defunct Dirty Jobs with Mike Rowe.

      What's not to like about THIS?

      Though, I suppose our reasons for enjoying it would differ. I hope.

      As an aside, Mr. Rowe looks pretty good for his age too.

      Back to work!

  3. I suspect that Anne would be a PC user, while her father chids her snobbishly her over the top of his Mac. Her guilty pleasure reality show might be “U.S. Navy Pirate Hunters” and I don’t think she would drink soda, but would enjoy a fruity (strawberry, raspberry, mango etc.) lemonade from time to time.

    • Anne, being extremely well-regulated would, I think, on special occasions nurse one Long Island Iced Tea for an evening. On a regular basis, she’d go for something infused with vitamins so there’s not waste of time or resources.

      Thanks, Diana, for dropping by.

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

