Sisterhood of the Traveling Books (Episode 4)

My younger daughter, Melanie, with my granddaughter, Charlie, just after we arrived.

My younger daughter, Melanie, with my granddaughter, Charlie, just after we arrived.

My daughters and I took a walking tour of downtown Iwakuni Saturday. I’m still flinching every time we drive anywhere, because the cars are on the “wrong” side of the road, and “cars” is sort of a misnomer. We are riding in little boxes. My Honda looks huge compared to the cars here.
My daughter does a great job driving on the "wrong" side of the road. We'll never know how I would do at it, because she won't let me drive. Ha!

My daughter does a great job driving on the “wrong” side of the road. We’ll never know how I would do at it, because she won’t let me drive. Ha!

We went out to lunch at an Indian restaurant. The menu was all in Japanese, so I had no clue what I was ordering. The good news is, it tasted like chicken. Does everything taste like chicken?

I think it was chicken tempura. That's what I told myself anyway.

I think it was chicken tempura. That’s what I told myself anyway.


Elizabeth (from Laura Hile's Mercy's Embrace, So Rough a Course) was not impressed with the cuisine.

Elizabeth (from Laura Hile’s Mercy’s Embrace, So Rough a Course) was not impressed with the cuisine.

Oddly enough, there were more Japanese-run Indian restaurants than there were Japanese restaurants. There was, however, a McDonald’s. Yes, folks, fast food has invaded Japan.

East meets West

East meets West

The Japanese people are the politest people I’ve ever met. Now I understand why my Japanese interns at school thought my classroom music was too loud. Everything here is understated. I can just imagine the culture shock the girls have experienced in our loud “look at me” culture.

As we walked a maze of streets back to our car, I couldn’t resist one more shot of the architecture. Guess who photobombed my pic? I didn’t even notice until I downloaded the pictures to my computer!

Photobomb by Elizabeth Elliot.

Photobomb by Elizabeth Elliot.


We stopped by a bakery for cherry turnovers. Yum!

We stopped by a bakery for cherry turnovers. Yum!

About Robin Helm

Robin Helm has published all three volumes of The Guardian Trilogy, Guardian, SoulFire, and Legacy. She has also published two Regency short stories. She and her husband have two daughters, the elder a Navy nurse stationed in Guam and deployed aboard the USMS Mercy, and the younger a fourth grade teacher. They live in South Carolina with their Yorkie, Tobey, Maltese teacup, Chloe. Ms. Helm graduated with a BA from Piedmont International University. She is a member of the Delta Epsilon Chi honor society, the American Legion Auxiliary, and the scholarship faculty of the United States Achievement Academy.
This entry was posted in Foods, I Would Do Anything for Love, Laura Hile, Mercy's Embrace, Modern culture, Robin Helm, Sisterhood of the Traveling Books, Summertime, Uncategorized, Vacation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sisterhood of the Traveling Books (Episode 4)

  1. Susan Kaye says:

    Wow, EE really likes the food. I’m with her on the cherry tarts by the way. And, I really like the juxtaposition of McDs and Curves. In my tiny town, there’s a Curves next to the Chinese restaurant, and a few miles from here, one set up shop next to a pizza place and a big Mexican restaurant. A plot? Perhaps. Thanks for the tour.

  2. Robin Helm says:

    We went to the Kensei Bridge yesterday, and you’ll never guess which book popped up there, Susan. Keep a watch for the next couple of days.

  3. Laura Hile says:

    Loving the Elizabeth Elliot photobombs, though what she’d think of a bicycle is anyone’s guess. The cherry tarts would be history, the resulting extra weight neatly hidden beneath the empire waistline of her era.

    You are a sport to bring along books. Mine have all been loaned out—to my mom in California?—so Kindle copies must suffice. My Kindle lives in my purse, so favorite authors are always at hand.

    I’m loving your pictures and commentary, Robin. I’m back online after a week’s recuperation from school. Welcome, summer!

    • Robin Helm says:

      Glad you liked it. I didn’t have to bring along the book featured in the next installment, Laura, because Mandy already had two books by the author. Gayle gave them to her years ago, signed by the author herself.

      This is a fun thing to do.

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

