With the new year bearing down on us …

what are you doing to plan for a successful 2012?

pic from The Blacksmith Steakhouse

I don’t make resolution so much as try to ditch anything that didn’t work in the previous 12 months. There is always a personal vow to be on time, remember birthdays, and clean the closets. This year it’s about shedding things that keep me from writing.

The biggie for me this year is putting politics on hold for three months. I’m wiping out my Bookmarks so that when I’m bored but not in the mood to force myself to write, I can’t just click, click, click and wander around that insane world. I figure there are no sites I visit that I can’t find again.

I will also be clearing out a lot of news letters that I feel compelled to read for information, but then don’t use. This will include some retailers, health, food, and writing newsletters. This will extend to my writing bookmarks as well. I have dozens of sites marked that I don’t go to except when avoiding writing.

So, what are you planning to modify this coming year? As long as no one is planning on giving up reading, I’ll be with you in spirit in all your self-improvement endeavors.

P. S. while looking for a graphic for this post, I found all the apocolyptic pics! I had forgotten that 2012 is the end of the world. Geesh, and here I am fretting about not writing more and letting myself be side-tracked.

Never mind! All Skate!

Take care–Susan Kaye

4 thoughts on “With the new year bearing down on us …

  1. Sophia Rose

    I think your resolution is very worthy. I haven’t gotten to an action plan yet; I’m still evaluating what I had on the list for this past year.
    I do plan to come up with a better daily schedule to make use of my time better.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Susan Kaye Post author

    My daily routine is dictated by all the other schedules in the house. I get up early and those hours are mine, but once someone else’s feet hit the floor, I’m at their mercy.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Gayle Mills

    Interesting that you mention that the world is supposed to end in 2012. It very well could. And if you knew that this was your last day on earth, how would you spend it? What would be important enough to garner your attention for the day? I think that’s a question I’ll ask myself every day this year.

    Selfishly, I hope you honor your commitment to writing. You do it beautifully. Realistically, I understand the commitment to family. I hope you figure out a way to balance the two.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Susan Kaye Post author

    IF I knew it was the last day, I’d make a lot of phone calls, and then cook a fabulous dinner and we’d go out at the table together. I’m not Jewish, but I do think like one in that eating is a very intimate thing that you do with those you love and trust.

    If we do find out the date of the last day, you’re all invited to my place. My standard potluck invite is: you bring dessert.

    As for writing, I’d love to quit–in hopes of relieving the agony–but know I can’t. I’m a writer who will agonize always.

    How about the rest of you?

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

