The Shop Around the Corner, a Christmas Favorite

It’s Christmas Eve.  And after we get home from church tonight we’ll light a fire and settle in for what has become a family tradition: watching my very favorite movie, The Shop Around the Corner (with James Stewart and Margaret Sullivan).  You no doubt are familiar with the modern version, another favorite, You’ve Got Mail.  The original has that Darcy and Elizabeth sparkle and even more charm.

My sons used to roll their eyes and sigh when I hauled this out each year.  But apparently that was all for show, for now they won’t let me skip. Even Ben’s girlfriend comes over to enjoy it.

It’s a romance that admittedly has little to do with the Christian message of Christmas. Nevertheless, I love the camaraderie between the employees in Mr Matuschek’s shop.   I suspect my storytelling style–many characters, crackling dialog, and intertwining plots–has its roots here.

If you have a chance to see this, you won’t be disappointed.

Wishing you a blessed Christmas,

Laura

6 thoughts on “The Shop Around the Corner, a Christmas Favorite

  1. Robin Helm

    We’re watching the BBC 1995 P & P tonight. That’s also a family tradition for whenever we get together – and we have to initiate the dashing young man. He won’t understand our quotes if he doesn’t see the mini-series.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Susan Kaye

    I’m not sure what will be on the tube after we get back from church tonight. If we stay with a Christmas theme, we might go with White Christmas, or Christmas with the Krancks. If we go with sentimentality, I’m out of ideas.

    Have a merry Christmas everyone.

    Like

    Reply
  3. wendisotis

    I’ve had this on my movie queue forever, but it must be popular and is never available. Did you see the musical remake, In the Good Old Summertime, with Judy Garland and Van Johnson?

    Merry Christmas!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Susan Kaye

    Well, due to a mistake on my part, we missed church. And, we came home discombobulated so round-robined the several Yule Logs available last night. *sigh*

    Like

    Reply
  5. Laura Hile Post author

    That’s too bad about the mix-up, Susan. Discombobulation is becoming common around here. Tomorrow I board the train for California … and of course I fear I’ll forget and miss it. (Like that’s going to happen!) Even so, it’s appalling to see the obvious things I do forget.

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

