Comes the Weekend

This past weekend, Pamela Aidan, Laura Hile, and I met in downtown Portland, Oregon, and spent two days encouraging one another to write, and writing. (Until this weekend, I’d never been in a hotel room where the television was not turned on! EVER.)

Part of the fun was finding places to eat. The first night we hit Kenny and Zuke’s deli. Great Hungarian mushroom soup. The lemon bar was eh. The next day for lunch we tried a small Indian place with a buffet. I have no idea what the name of the place was so no link. It was very good as well. I can’t tell you anything I ate, so you’ll just have to take my word for it. On Sunday we found that a lot of the downtown restaurants are closed for lunch and we ended up eating at a cramped, glass cube, whose name I don’t know. My macaroni and cheese is better. IMO.

The place on my list for our next foray into urban weekending is a place across the street from Kenny and Zukes, the  … 

Now doesn’t that just sound kitschy enough to be worth the risk? And who can resist the frolicksome smelty looking fish? One of the brochures in the room said this: “Fresh locally inspired seafood, seasonal menu, full bar and a 25 for 25 wine list in our time honored atmosphere.” It’s the “time honored atmosphere” that has me intrigued.

I’ve been in places where the “time honored atmosphere” is so thick it’s ground into the carpet.

The Fish Grotto is online. Here’s a look at the bar: 

It looks like a place our grandparents went for birthdays and anniversaries. It looks like the kind of place my husband and I would frequent, depending on how crowded it when we went last.

Anyway, what sort of place do you like to go and drop a few dollars? Established and reliable? Trending hot and chic? A place to enjoy someone’s company privately, or a place to see and be seen?

17 thoughts on “Comes the Weekend

    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      We are talking about making this an annual, almost-out-of-winter event. Maybe we should plan a, “should be in Portland, Oregon on the weekend of ____” sort of thing.

      Have a good weekend, Chautona.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Sophia Rose

    Actually, all those places sound good to me. Around here in my corner of Michigan, I like a place called the Big Bear Lodge which serves local fish and game with lots of mouthwatering appetizers, sides, and desserts to choose as well. I only think of ‘comfortable and delicious’ to describe it. Definitely not trendy or chic! 😀

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      I think most of the places that touch us deeply are not terribly chic. At my comfy places, I’m not interested in seeing and being seen, just eating and enjoying.

      Have a good weekend, Sophia Rose.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Robin Helm

    I like taking my daughter to Applebee’s and Los Mariachi’s (local Mexican). I’m not into trendy. I go to places that I know we like – for instance, The Wagon Wheel, a local eatery that has the absolute BEST fried squash in the world. If you’ve never had fried squash, you need to come down here just to taste it. Put some South in your mouth.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      I had to laugh at the last line. I’m seeing a scene with a family fighting around the Sunday dinner table. Grandma is really tired of it all. She holds up a platter to the loudest offender. “Put some South in your mouth and chew! Quietly.”

      Like

      Reply
  3. Gayle Mills

    Loved the hotel virtual tour. You ladies chose wisely for your weekend get-a-way. And I loved the pictures of the Fish Grotto. Nothing fishy about a place with ambiance and great food.

    And I have to agree with Robin’s description of The Wagon Wheel. Thin slices of yellow squash, battered and deep fried. Hmmm…. The perfect side for roast beef and mashed potatoes. And of course, there’s plenty of sweet tea, nectar of the gods. And if that’s not enough to clog your arteries and send your sugar level up, you can finish it off with homemade lemon sherbet, served in a chilled metal sherbet stem. Say grace and pass the Lipitor.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      Here the nectar of the gods is beer. Or wine. I’m partial to the former, but stick with water most of the time.

      Like

      Reply
    2. Laura Hile

      Game on, Gayle.

      Robin had a P & P marathon movie watch a while ago, and now you mention yummy food. So now I’m trying to figure how many tanks of gas I’ll need to drive to your house.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Gayle Mills

        Any time, Laura. Any time. We both have plenty of room for guests. We can even offer some interesting side trips to Charleston, SC, and Asheville, NC. Or if history’s your thing, we can do Williamsburg, VA, Monticello, and D.C. New York isn’t that much further up the road. Want to see a Broadway show and take in the Statue of Liberty?

        We’re ready when you are.

        Like

        Reply
  4. Melanie

    Lived in Portland, OR in the late 70’s, and the town was booming with great places to eat!! Worked downtown and don’t remember anything but the scenery and all the bridges crossing over to our home on the SE side. Beautiful city and I’m sure that eating out is even more exciting as in the past!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      A lot has changed since the 70s. I came in ’89 and it’s changed greatly since then. What’s nice is that there are lots of good ethnic restaurants in the ‘burbs these days.

      Thanks for dropping by, Melanie.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Pamela Aidan

    I got a lovely email from the hotel thanking me for the evaluation card that Laura actually filed out. So, Laura, they appreciated the comments–they must have been positive ones. And well they should. Although I’d hoped for a bigger suite is was enough and to the purpose. I had a great time, although next year someone else gets the sofa bed!! (It was OK for a little person like me) The afternoon tea and morning continentals were very European–like the tiny elevators–and great excuses for breaks from the demands of writing we laid upon ourselves. A great time to remember and, hopefully, repeat.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Laura Hile

      *waving hand* I’ll take the sofa bed next time, Pamela! I’ll remove the mattress, close up the sofa, and put the mattress on the floor. 😉

      This hotel was the perfect choice, something we kind of stumbled upon. Thanks again for taking the trouble (and expense) to fly out! Next year we’ll be braver and explore the neighborhood more thoroughly.

      Like

      Reply
  6. LucyParker

    I’m going to Portland (first time) in the fall, so have written down these spots to consider. Thanks!

    At home, I’m a diner girl, love me some breakfast any time of the day! I’ve been going to my favorite diner for years. It has a ‘Cheers’ attitude about it, everyone knows your name. In the summer I take my dogs, who get treated like regulars, too. Just thinking about it makes me hungry for biscuits and sausage gravy.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Nothing at All to Do With Jane Austen | Austen Authors

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

