Self-Promotion and the Real World

Much as I’d like to remain a hermit, quietly writing books, it won’t wash. Bit by bit I am learning the ins and outs of Self Promotion! Tomorrow I have my debut post at Austen Authors, a blog devoted to every kind of Austen novel.

It’s about exposing my book series to a larger audience. Not to be outdone by her father, Mary Musgrove will be launching an advice column there. Under my name you’ll see Pride and Precedence listed, the title of her series. I’ll post links to each of the articles as they come on-line. I’ll be posting every three to four weeks.

Today’s promotional activity centers around a nifty idea I learned from Author Media—the text image link. I’m culling through Mercy’s Embrace for one-liners that are catchy. The idea is to post them on Facebook and, if people enjoy the wit, they’ll share. And with the share goes the web address mercysembrace.com.

The Facebook “Page” continues to befuddle me, but the text image thing I can do. We’ll see.

7 thoughts on “Self-Promotion and the Real World

  1. janashe

    I think we all benefit when authors engage in ‘self-promotion’ – sounds so self-aggrandizing, but it really isn’t.
    I mean if a publishing house released your book, they have done all they can to promote the book, to get the word out in advance and for the first few months. They have to or they soon would not have enough sales to keep publishing.
    Well, duh, if you SELF-publish, then you have to self-promote, right? And even if a house published it, why wouldn’t you want to help them be successful? How can you get the next book out if you are still paying for the 1st one?
    I have a friend who did self-publish her first books, but did not assertively promote them, they were just there if anyone wanted to buy. Her most recent book is different – she lets people know, she tells them what’s good about it, she makes herself available to blog wherever asked. And it has made a huge difference. Not just sales, but her sense of being part of the writing community, of putting herself out there and interacting with her readers and co-authors. She had to get past feeling squeamish about it and past a few naysayers, but once she did, woo-hoo – it’s been fun.

    And it’s great for us readers. We like knowing more about the people we admire who write the stories we like. And it lets us know when new books are released – I was shocked, just today, to learn an acquaintance had just published one of her stories! Quel surprise! I was so happy for her, but amazed I had not known it was coming.
    Anyway, just want to say ENJOY THE RIDE! You paid your dues, you suffered the long nights and the hard labor and birthed your creation. Hold your baby up high and proudly say It’s MINE! Come enjoy this new one with me!
    After all, who best to brag?

    Like

    Reply
    1. Laura Hile Post author

      What Jan said …

      Thanks so much for the encouraging words.

      Yes, I had to grow to the point that I was willing to put myself out there because readers are looking for quality books to read.

      I did not self-publish my books, but it’s a whole new world in the publishing biz nowadays. Authors are expected not only promote themselves, but also to come with a fan base—which I did—and then grow it. Which I’m learning to do.

      One feeble step at a time.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Gayle Mills

    Amen, Jan, nicely said.

    I love the text box, Laura. We might even be able to harvest some witticisms from the columns and comments here. Go for it, girl!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Laura Hile Post author

      You are the mother lode of wit, Gayle. When you and your sister are in the same house, it must be a snark feast of funny exchanges. Oh, to be a fly on the wall! πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  3. Robin Helm

    I’d like to know how to do that, Laura. I could do some text boxes on my Facebook page using quotes from The Guardian Trilogy.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Laura Hile Post author

    Very low tech, Robin.

    I created a Publisher document (I use Publisher a lot for school stuff), put the quote in a text box, then framed the text box with those line thingies, then saved it as a jpg document. Last of all I opened the jpg using Picture It!, cropped it, and saved it. Voila!

    Make some, post them in your photo album, and I’ll hit “share.” I’m learning how this FB game is played. I no longer hit “like” or “share” or “comment” when something is near the top of the page. I wait until it moves down, and my action bumps it back up to the top. Longevity!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Laura Hile

      Chautona’s done her homework. Look at this!

      I’m hoping this link will take you to her Facebook page to see the text image she made for Here We Come. Such a great line. Spiritually “cool” obviously does not mean “lukewarm.”

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

