You Go, Girl!

“Gaining confidence, one 160-foot fall at a time.” That’s the advertisement of a Canada-based organization called 9 Lives Adventures which arranges bungee jumping for the wheelchair-bound. One of the jumpers is quoted as saying, “First and definitely not the last time going bungee jumping in whistler, BC – Thank you 9 Lives Adventures for making this happen!”

It is supposedly safe according to 9 Lives founder Karim Ladki who explains that wheelchairs keep the jumpers upright and prevent blood from rushing to the heads. The wheelchairs also have a special bungee cord that attaches to the chair’s axles for safety purposes.

I have no words. Who am I to say that paraplegics shouldn’t have all the adventures that they can get? I’m healthy, and I would be scared silly to do what the lady in the video is doing.

This entry was posted in Quirky news items, Robin Helm on by .

About Robin Helm

Robin Helm has published all three volumes of The Guardian Trilogy: Guardian, SoulFire, and Legacy. She also recently published the Yours by Design Series: Accidentally Yours, Sincerely Yours, and Forever Yours. She and her husband have two adult daughters, two sons-in-law, two granddaughters, and a Yorkie Poo named Toby.

12 thoughts on “You Go, Girl!

  1. Laura Hile

    Apparently this is a sure-fire way to conquer fear — jump off a cliff (or a tower or out of an airplane) and nothing else bothers you. Yeah, I can see the logic in that …

    Remember that text that says, “It is appointed for every man to die once and after that comes judgment”? I like the die once part. Not over and over again with a bungee cord attached to my harness.

    Besides, I have bungee cords at home. Sometimes those suckers come loose. Snap!

    And now you know that I have issues with fear and also with trust! Ha.

    My hat is off to the girl who jumped. Wow. That takes guts.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Robin Helm Post author

    I am literally chortling at your comment, Laura. This is the best laugh I’ve had all day. Keep ’em coming!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Monica P

    That is so cool! Good for her. I think I’d rather skydive than bungee, but I wouldn’t rule it out. Robin, if anything bad happened I’m sure Xander would be there to catch you like he did with El. 😉

    Like

    Reply
  4. Susan Kaye

    Most of these bungee jumps are in gorgeous, scenic places. Why would anyone want to ruin such peace and tranquility with all that screaming?!?

    Like

    Reply
    1. Laura Hile

      Outfits like this reel you in when you’re on vacation and have extra cash. You’re away from the stress of everyday life, and get suckered into thinking about it. Then the others in your group, who have a death wish or something, decide to do it. Once they smell your fear, it becomes a double-dog-dare-you thing.

      I sat at the state fair once and watched couples get strapped in to that bungee slingshot ride. *shiver*

      Like

      Reply
  5. Robin Helm Post author

    Bwahahaha! My second belly laugh of the night! I want to die peacefully in my sleep like my grandfather – not screaming like the passengers in his car.

    Like

    Reply
  6. LucyParker

    I led a youth group on a ropes course once. They loved every bit of it and taunted me into giving the high ropes a try. It’s hard to be a leader when you’re screaming for the fire department to come get you down. I still wake in a sweat. Nope, no throwing myself off a bridge with a elastic hair tie on my ankle.

    Grownup get to say “Thank you, no.” But more power to those who want to say “Yes, please!” Just don’t ask me to watch.

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

