Eggscited About Easter

Easter has always been one of my favorite times of the year. On the Sunday of the remembrance of the crucifixion and resurrection, we always have wonderful music at our church, and tomorrow will be no exception. Our choirs will be joining with a small orchestra and the praise band to sing several songs, and I will have the privilege of playing my favorite instrument – the piano – instead of the flute. Gayle will be on strings in the instrumental ensemble with me backing up the singers. She will take the piano solo for the prelude, and the two of us will play the postlude as a duet in all three services with her on piano and me on the organ. I love to play duets with my sister, and I praise God for the talent with which He has blessed her. We work as well together in music as we do in writing.

I also enjoy the month preceding Easter. First the Bradford pear trees bloom, and then the daffodils and jonquils. I always look for the blooming of the dogwood trees as a sign that spring has indeed sprung. Everything is green and beautiful here now. My rose bush is heavy with blooms, my irises and lilies are ready to blossom at any time, and my yellow snapdragons are brilliant. A few days ago, I bought pots of pink begonias, pink geraniums, and Boston ferns with which to decorate my porch. The new life reminds me of my new life in Christ, and as I watch my annuals break through the ground, I think of His rising from the dead.

Tomorrow as we celebrate Christ’s resurrection, I will think of all of you. Some of you have been my friends for many years and a few of you are new friends of mine. God has richly blessed me by putting you into my life. I hope you all have a blessed Easter.

My daughter and her boyfriend decorated Easter eggs Thursday night, and I thought I would share a few pictures. If you have read Guardian and SoulFire, Melanie is my model for Elizabeth. Her boyfriend, Dylan, is the right height difference from her for Xander/Darcy, so this is actually how Elizabeth would compare to him in size. Interesting, huh?

This entry was posted in Deep Stuff, Holiday, Robin Helm on by .

About Robin Helm

Robin Helm has published all three volumes of The Guardian Trilogy: Guardian, SoulFire, and Legacy. She also recently published the Yours by Design Series: Accidentally Yours, Sincerely Yours, and Forever Yours. She and her husband have two adult daughters, two sons-in-law, two granddaughters, and a Yorkie Poo named Toby.

8 thoughts on “Eggscited About Easter

  1. Laura Hile

    Out here in the “hip” Pacific Northwest, our church music has gone over almost entirely to the praise band. Our musicians are young and love Christ, but I miss the variety of more traditional music. How I would love to be in your service, Robin and Gayle! 🙂

    Instead I will imagine the music, just as I will imagine the flowers on your porch and in your garden. We have only the earliest blooms here. My rose bushes have only the beginnings of leaves …

    Like

    Reply
  2. Robin Helm Post author

    Our music was traditional, then contemporary, and is now more blended. After the very energetic choir special, “Alive, Forever Amen,” we will be singing a huge, upbeat arrangement of “Christ Arose” with piano, strings, acoustic guitar, bass guitar, electric guitar, drums, trumpets, a trombone, a French horn, and a flute. That will be followed by another big arrangement of “Christ the Lord Is Risen Today” and a guitar-driven arrangement of the contemporary song “I Will Rise.” You would really enjoy Gayle’s piano preludes; they are beautiful. Our postlude duet will be a big piece, “We Shall Behold Him.”

    I offer you my weather and plants for your vicarious enjoyment. ; )

    Like

    Reply
  3. wendisotis

    Though I’m sure the music will be very different during this holiday, I’ll listen to the CD I have of your choir.

    What a beautiful job Melanie has done on that egg! I’m out of practice on dying them at all – two of my children are severely allergic to eggs.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Robin Helm Post author

    Yes, that CD is Christmas music, but quite a bit of it is upbeat. None of it has the praise band/orchestra combination though.

    She and Dylan had a wonderful time dying their eggs, and it was so cute. Not many college students would think of that as a great date, but they laughed all evening.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I’ve thought about copying and pasting it, because it was the inspiration for the title, and it’s hysterically funny. I think I will.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Krista

    I love Easter! I love that you shared this with us, what a beautiful daughter you have I have 5 little kids, 9 and under to watch hunt for Easter eggs tomorrow! Family is everything. Heavenly Father blesses me each day with the smiles of my family (husband and kids). I see he has blessed you too.
    Happy Easter! Love the post:)
    Krista

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I wish we lived close enough to you to give you the 15 eggs they dyed, Krista. It’s a shame – they’re just sitting here in a basket with nobody to hide or seek them.

      I’m glad you liked the post!

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

