He’s Hot, But Is His Mother Skinny?

If my daughters didn’t always date very fit young men with skinny mothers, I would not have joined Weight Watchers today. I know that one of these days, one of them will marry, and I’ll be forced into pictures with those toothpick women – who always wear makeup, have purses that match their shoes, never need to wax their upper lips, are at least ten years younger than I am, and highlight their hair. What’s up with that? It seems to be a prerequisite for my daughters that in order to date a young man, he must have a highly successful, beautiful mother who could not possibly have ever given birth. If Rupert Penry-Jones called one of them for a date, she would have to check out his mother before she said yes. (That’s my Austen link for this article, in case you wondered.)

Now I have a freezer full of WW frozen dinners, breakfasts, and desserts, and I am determined (DETERMINED!!!!) to lose fifty pounds. I paid good money to join the group, and I intend to get my money’s worth.

So what about it, ladies? Can I get an amen? Will you be my support group? I’ll give you periodic updates and tell you funny stories. Help a sister out.

23 thoughts on “He’s Hot, But Is His Mother Skinny?

  1. Laura Hile

    Amen and amen, sister!

    First week is the hardest for me — it’s the snack carbs and sugar withdrawal thing.

    And I feel your pain, for this is where I am now as I’m climbing back on the wagon after spring break. I’ve lost 12 pounds since January, and I’m not quite as worn out at the end of the school day. I tell myself that it’s “pay now or pay later” so far as healthy choices go. You made the right decision, and not only because of vanity. I, too, am tired of hiding from the camera because of weight. I’ll walk with you through the weight loss valley, Robin.

    And you can return the favor by making me write to a stringent quota this summer.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I’m here for you, Laura. You tell me how many words you write per week, and I’ll tell you how many pounds I’ve lost. My husband is so thrilled he said not to worry about cooking for him. He’ll cook for himself. He just wants me to stay on the diet. How pathetic is that?

      Like

      Reply
      1. Laura Hile

        I’m too cheap for Weight Watchers, alas. I’ve been using the Kindle version of Dr Moreno’s The 17 Day Diet. You know, the same things my grandma said about eating plenty of vegetables and protein, and everything else in moderation? Except, well … sugar. That has to go. So I’ve learned to drink black coffee. *shudder* Can you believe it? I now understand why people are choosy about quality coffee.

        Like

        Reply
  2. Sandy C

    Yay Robin! I’ll be rooting you on daily. You have my admiration and all the support I can give. I have no doubt you will shed the pounds and reach your goal! You go girl!!!
    -Sandy

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Thank you, Sandy. You can be my cheerleader. Tell me that I get to meet Colin Firth if I lose 55 pounds. That MIGHT work!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Jakki L.

    I wish you the most luck, and if need be, I will drive to SC and pry the candy bar, or other guilty pleasure, from your hands! πŸ˜‰ I do, however, have my pom poms and megaphone handy! I am ready to cheer you on! πŸ™‚ Go, Robin, go! πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      You’re such a great friend, Jakki! Maybe a cute little video of you with your pom poms and megaphone would be inspiring! Go, go, go!

      Like

      Reply
  4. Robin Helm Post author

    I paid $98 for 10 weeks. That’s not bad, considering that years ago you had to pay to join, pay for the materials, and then pay weekly. It’s cheaper now than it used to be.

    Also, the points system is easier than the old exchange system. All fruits and nearly all vegetables are free now, and you no longer have to eat so many fruits, so many vegetables, and so many proteins. You just add up your points.

    Since I’m a life-time member already, they asked if I’d like to work for them after I lose my weight. It would probably be a good side job.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Monica P

    Good luck, Robin! I know if anyone can do it, you can. I’ll have my people call Colin’s people and arrange a meet & greet when you’re ready.

    Now I’m kinda glad I don’t live near you bc if you lose pounds, I will surely find them, and Lord knows I have plenty of my own to lose! I think Jakki will have to come to KY and follow me around with a taser. “Put that down!” “Drop n give me 20!” Lol

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Thanks for the vote of confidence, Monica. Give me a few months before your people call Colin’s people. I have to have a dress made from recyclable materials. lol Plastic bottles, tires, popped balloons – you know, like the dress his wife wore to the Oscars. (That was mean, but jealousy does that to a person.)

      Did you read my theory of weight on Goodreads? I think that there is a constant amount of mass in the world. It must remain balanced, so when one person dies, enough babies are born to replace that weight. When someone loses weight, someone else gains it. Never stand next to anyone who is losing weight. All that fat is just floating around, looking for someone to glom onto. (That’s my own made-up word. Cool, huh?)

      So Jakki’s a drill sergeant? Excellent. I made need someone to be tough with me. Ha!

      Like

      Reply
  6. Andrea

    Good for you! I’m trying to lose the last 10 lbs. I will be motivated by your progress and funny stories I’m sure! Remember, you have to be a little bit hungry in order for it to work.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Hi, Andrea! I’m in the “very focused” first stage, so I’m doing really well and it doesn’t seem difficult. I love that all fruits and most vegetables are “free” now. I’ve used only 2 points this morning, and I get 27 for the day! I think it will help my diabetes, too.

      What I need to do is exercise!

      Like

      Reply
  7. Alison

    You go girl, Robin! You can do it!! It’s not only the food, it’s the determination, and you sound like you are determined,

    Yes, exercise, exercise, exercise… or simply move whenever you have the chance. Park farther away in the parking lot wherever you go, take the stairs instead of the elevator, if your house has an upper floor, instead of asking your husband or daughters to get stuff, take pleasure of walking up and down in your house… I’m too cheap (and shy) to join anything, but take every opportunity to move around really helps! Cheers for you!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Thanks, Alison! You are a wonderful cheerleader! Those are great suggestions, and I’ll certainly take them to heart. Actually, spending the $98 to join motivates me to stick with the program, and I’ve never been shy. (Can you tell?) My husband and I will start walking in the evenings again on Thursday. Tonight I have a big rehearsal for Sunday.

      Like

      Reply
  8. Susan Kaye

    I wish you well on your endeavor, Robin. I’m still hoping for the Overnight Miracle that returns me to size 12 some morning. Doesn’t seem to be working.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      The only way you can lose ten pounds over night is for someone to chop off your head (or another body part). I’ve lost 2 pounds so far, and I have a long way to go.

      Like

      Reply
  9. LucyParker

    Robin, my sister in the fight for sitting in the back row of a photo! I know exactly where you’re coming from, as my son dates the tiniest things I’ve ever seen. I was totally perplexed last Christmas when I had to shop for a gift for his then gf – she wore a size 2, the same size as Parker, my Shih Tzu. It was like shopping in an AU.

    So lead on, Sister, and we’ll both push away from the table, knowing that those who profess to needing to lose 5 pounds (biotches) will never understand the joy of being a truly accomplished woman when those 50 pounds are history. xoxo

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Terry, you have me chortling and snorting. So funny! I just want to weigh what my driver’s license says, you know? Does everyone lie on those?

      My daughters are size twos. I was born bigger than they are. And I met the boyfriend’s mom today. She’s looks even tinier in person than she does in pics. She’s gorgeous, too. I need a face implant.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

