Good Outcomes vs. Happy Endings

Last night I watched “Criminal Minds” as I am wont to do on Wednesday night. Criminal Minds is about the Behavioral Analysis Unit–read, serial  killer catchers–of the FBI. Most nights they work to analyze the motives, actions, and peculiarities of a killer so they can be arrested. Last night was the same except it involved a  member of the team fans have watched over the past seven years.

In this episode, Derrick Morgan finds that his missing cousin is alive.

Shemar Moore, a modern FW if there ever was one.

The problem is he told his auntie last season he  incontrovertible proof her daughter was dead at the hands of a serial killer. Yes, Thanksgivings could be very awkward now. Anyway, when the cousin is spotted in Chicago, they go looking and find that she’s been held for eight years by sexual sadist who is now keeps her under control by way of their young son.

L-o-n-g story short, they catch the bad guy, free the cousin, and unlike many other Criminal Minds, no one is tragically killed in the end.

Nice looking guy

My point is, happy endings are vital. Initially I was interested in this story because of the BIG lie. In a drama of 41 minutes (yes, hour-long shows are now only 41 minutes long thanks to all those commercials) there is not enough time to examine how a lie like that affects a family, but it would have been wonderful to see it played out. I was also interested in a subplot that implied an organized  sexual slavery ring playing out in the ‘burbs. Here in Portland, Oregon, such shocking things are alive, prospering, and occasionally reported on our local news. I also feared the cousin would be killed as they were trying to capture the suspect, leaving Derrick to deliver his newly-found nephew to his grieving aunt  to raise. But, the evil doer was captured and all’s-well-that-ends-well.

This was a happy ending. Not a good outcome like you hear in business after a crisis in the shipping department is averted. A genuine happy ending. I know, happy endings are for saps. The truly intelligent among us are too sophisticated to accept such simplistic, pandering, fairy tale endings, and the real story is in all the psyche trawling that will come later.

I get it, I have lived a real life. I understand that one act, by one person can change your life and who you are forever. I get it, believe you me. But we can rejoice in the happy endings when they come. Happy endings are vital. They seems so rare. Though I suspect we each have far more of them than we can remember.

Take some time today and rejoice in a happy ending or two. And share if you like.

Take care–Susan Kaye

8 thoughts on “Good Outcomes vs. Happy Endings

  1. Susan Kaye Post author

    I’m going to comment first because last night was a good night around Rancho del Chaos. Our granddaughter was born out of wedlock. It’s not the finest of situations, but we hang in there. Our granddaughter is an
    amazingly BIG personality (unlike most of us who are quiet and snarky) and we cannot ignore the fact that God has blessed us with her.

    Last night she came out of the kitchen with a graham cracker in her hand. She saw me looking at her, smiled, raised her hands and declared, “It’s cracker time!!”

    I was a worried and sad excuse for a mother, but I enjoy and am blessed so much by this little girl. While this “situation” is life-long, last night had a happy ending.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Gayle Mills

    “They seems so rare. Though I suspect we each have far more of them than we can remember.” I think we have happy endings we never recognize as being happy endings. Every time you drive home and make it to your front door, you’ve experienced a happy ending — no wrecks, no flat tires. Every time you wake up in the morning, you’ve experienced a happy ending — no heart attack, no robbery, no fire.

    Like you, Susan, my first grandchild was born to my 16-year-old daughter. Trust me, that is not something you want to be experiencing when you are the principal of a Christian school in a very small town. But my daughter, my son, my family, and I — we all decided that we would accept this child as God’s blessing. After all, he didn’t make any bad decisions; his parents did. And I can tell you without equivocation that my grandson was the reason I got up in the morning. I had just divorced. My father and sister-in-law had died within 2 months of each other. My son had come down with this mysterious illness and his temperature went to 106.7. The depression that I suffered threatened to drown me. Seth needed me. I couldn’t just give up and go under. Seth is God’s proof to me that He is faithful. He is willing to take all of our rebellion and pride and turn the absolute worst mistakes we make into something that is good for us and glorious for Him.

    Happy ending, indeed.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      Thanks for sharing this, Gayle. I was about to take this post down: too much information that no one needs to hear. Maybe not.

      Like

      Reply
    2. Laura Hile

      Susan and Gayle, thank you. This is why I miss having young children in my home. They’re work, but they provide instant perspective on what is truly important.

      Every day with my little sons held a happy ending, for even after the worst of days there were bedtime hugs and storytime. When I was undergoing radiation treatment for Hodgkins, I came home to naptime … with a little blonde darling to hold on my lap. He sang to me! Yes, I drove around town in a dilapidated Volkswagen Bug—torn between feeling sorry for myself because we were so poor and being intensely grateful because the engine actually started! —my sons thought it was great fun.

      And now that I have forgotten all the things I worried about, I realize that it was fun!

      Thank you, Susan, for the reminder that God is good, and that even when things look bleak, there are “happy endings” just waiting to be noticed. By me.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Robin Helm

    Seth is indeed a happy ending, and my niece (Gayle’s daughter) has grown into a wonderful, nurturing mother of 5. God has richly blessed the entire family. I cannot imagine not having Seth. He’s 17, yet he reaches for me on Sundays to hug me. I never have to chase him down. He sits with my husband and lunch, and they talk the entire time. He is very much loved.

    Now about Shemar Moore – I knew that the girl wasn’t dead and it would someday come back to bite him. I have the show on DVR and haven’t had time to watch it yet, but don’t worry about the spoiler. I’ll watch it just to see a show featuring Shemar. I’m a FAN. He’s my model for Lexus, one of my guardians.

    About happy endings – four years ago I was unfairly fired, and I thought I would not be able to deal with it and be happy. But God is good, and Romans 8:28 is true. I’m happier today than I have been in a long time. They meant it for evil, but God used it for good.

    Like

    Reply
      1. Robin Helm

        Yes, I started writing last March, and I started a Music Academy at church 2 years ago. Now I teach piano and write. It’s great!

        I like that I can’t be fired from writing. lol

        Like

        Reply
  4. LucyParker

    As someone who has received most, if not all, of her blessings in disguise, I can appreciate what you all have shared here. Patience is not my strong suit, yet I’ve learned to wait for the happy ending. It’s not alway as I would have written it, but it does happen. Please hug your bonus blessings for me. They are here because the world needs them.

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

