It Didn’t Look Quite Like This

I have posted on other blogs that I love the way Jane Austen used music in her works. Accomplished ladies of her era played an instrument or sang, or both. Today, I channeled Elizabeth. I played the piano for four performances of a concert with a full orchestra and a seventy voice choir, and sometimes I fudged and slurred my way through the difficult passages. It was a beautiful instrument, however – a nine foot grand.

My experience was in no way like that of the woman in the painting (*snort*), but I still enjoyed myself immensely. I’ll be glad to take a break from the intense practicing of the past week. Maybe I can write a little more!

This entry was posted in Humor, Music, Robin Helm on by .

About Robin Helm

Robin Helm has published all three volumes of The Guardian Trilogy: Guardian, SoulFire, and Legacy. She also recently published the Yours by Design Series: Accidentally Yours, Sincerely Yours, and Forever Yours. She and her husband have two adult daughters, two sons-in-law, two granddaughters, and a Yorkie Poo named Toby.

24 thoughts on “It Didn’t Look Quite Like This

  1. Monica P

    You played the pianoforte for that long today and your fingers are still able to type! Sheesh! I love listening to orchestra and choral music. The World Choir Games is coming to my neck of the woods (Cincinnati) in July and I hope to attend at least one of the many events.

    I LOVE that painting, btw! I bet you wore that exact same dress, huh?

    Like

    Reply
  2. Robin Helm Post author

    I may wear a dress like that after my Weight Watchers is successful. lol

    Yep, I played for four hours today. It was wonderful!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Laura Hile

      It’s your Darcy and El, Robin !!! (I forget, does he also play violin? Ha, he does now!)

      And that looks like the period version of a gold lame gown, right? The perfect hot-hot-hot post-Weight Watchers concert get up!

      You know you’d rock this gown in gold. I’ll wear the silver one and will turn pages as you play. Sitting v-e-r-y straight, no leaning.

      Then again, if I lose enough to squeeze into this gown, there will be nothing left up top to worry about!

      Ordering info at Stylehive.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Robin Helm

        Gregory has played the violin publicly, but not Darcy, though I have no doubt that he could pick it up easily. I love the dresses, but I doubt they make those in my size. As long as we’re fantasizing here, let’s say that I’ll lose enough weight AND be able to afford plastic surgery (face lift, eyelid lift, liposuction).

        Like

        Reply
        1. Laura Hile

          … the and hair extensions, and the spray-on tan.

          Many gowns look glamorous in still photos. But in real life with a moving, breathing woman inside? Not so much.

          Like

          Reply
  3. Gayle Mills

    You did a beautiful job.
    Of course, we sopranos were hitting those high A’s, but without the breath support of Jennifer Ehle (breast support? LOL).
    I’m altogether glad to be at home with my feet up. It was quite a busy day.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Thanks, Sis! You always hit your notes. That’s why the director makes such a fuss about your singing.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Sandy C

    Fantastic! I know it was wonderful to see and hear! I’m a first soprano myself and remember well the choral and orchestra performances. They are very, very moving. I’m one of those that gets so caught up in the music, I’m transported into another world altogether!
    And I can’t wait to see you in that dress! You are well on your way! Now, we have to get Darcy on the violin to go with the dress! 😉
    Hugs and keep up the good work!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Robin Helm Post author

    A scene between Darcy and Elizabeth, using that painting as inspiration, would be wonderful. I may just have to do that! Thanks, Sandy!

    Like

    Reply
  6. Donna B.

    Had I known that was “Elizabeth” up there playing, I’d have rushed right up and met you all over again! lol What a marvelous blessing today was…. best music this side of Glory! And I think you all deserve a few days off!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Robin Helm

    Thanks, Donna. I hope Adam will let us have Wednesday night off from rehearsal for the choir. The praise band would still have to practice, but it would shorten the evening considerably.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Robin Helm Post author

    My first weigh-in after a week on Weight Watchers will be tomorrow. I’ll have to post an update. We’ll wait a month for a picture.

    On a very sad note, one of our elderly ladies from church was found stabbed 32 times in her home last night. Her great-grandson had murdered her for $30 and her jewelry. I’ll be playing for that funeral on Wednesday, and I really dread it. They are all (understandably) very upset.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Laura Hile

      Oh, Robin.

      I am so sad to hear about this.

      I sent a young man to prison for life (trial jury member) for doing the same to a grandmother, a person he knew. Two meth addicts needing money for a hit. He and a friend stabbed her 29 times.

      Like

      Reply
  9. Robin Helm Post author

    He wanted money, and she wouldn’t give it to him. All she had was $30. He broke one knife off stabbing her, went to her kitchen and took one of hers, and then came back and kept stabbing her. The police found her things in his apartment. She was a very godly lady. I can only hope that the first stab killed her, and that she didn’t have time to be terrified or feel pain.

    Like

    Reply
      1. Robin Helm Post author

        He is, which is good for both Mrs. Mackey and her great-grandson. God will be merciful to the young man if he asks for God’s help, but the jury won’t be. This is South Carolina.

        Like

        Reply
        1. Susan Kaye

          In the human view, it’s too bad he’s not in Oregon. “Nuff said. And even when God gives mercy because we ask, He doesn’t necessarily remove the sting of regret and there’s a LOT to regret about murdering your grandmother. *sigh*

          Like

          Reply
  10. LucyParker

    I’m very sorry for your church family’s loss, Robin. I know that music sustains weary hearts, that your playing will bring some solace on a sad day.

    Like

    Reply
  11. Robin Helm Post author

    I truly hope so, Terry. I have always felt that playing for a funeral is an honor. It’s the last thing I can do for a person. This one will be hard because the family is so upset. It’s hard to play when you can hear people crying. Then tomorrow evening, my husband and I will go to the funeral home for my niece’s viewing. She just died of breast cancer after battling it for 11 years. She was in her 40’s. It will be a hard day.

    Like

    Reply
    1. LucyParker

      Breast cancer is an evil bastard, but I know from my own family experience that it makes us live our lives a little closer to each other, value the small moments that we share. I wish you and your family peace. xoxo

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

