“The Guys Have It” Romance Short Story Contest

Could one of these fellows be the next Nicholas Sparks?
YOU decide!

As promised (see Write Like A Girl?), here is your chance to find out what really goes on in my high school Creative Writing class! These fine gents, under duress, have each produced a 6-8 page Romance short story.

And now one of them will win a $10 Starbucks card. It’s up to you to choose! Links to the stories—and the all-important “poll” for voting—are below.

Sadly, you can vote only once. (Even if you’re his mom. 🙂 But hey, bring your friends!) The poll will remain open until May 19, 2012.

Naturally, they LOVE Mercy's Embrace!

Standing: Sensei Swag, Peter Gray, Tom C. Fordil, Raúl B. Phantomhive
Seated: Hill Brown, Saul Tee, Sam Sprichwörter

To read a story, click on the title.

• Tom C. Fordil, Perfect
• Sam Sprichwörter, Shattered
• Saul Tee, Upon the Dawn of Two Suns
• Raúl Phantomhive, Adventurous Love
• Hill Brown, Peril in the PACEs
• Peter Gray, The Heart of the Honest
• Sensei Swag, Friend Request

9 thoughts on ““The Guys Have It” Romance Short Story Contest

  1. Robin Helm

    I’ll try again. I voted for Sam because his story had me hooked from the beginning. It was well-written, not too flowery, and not based on what a guy thinks a woman’s romance fantasy is. His story is realistic in that the relationship was developing at a normal pace over time.

    A girl’s real ideal guy is like the guy my younger daughter is dating now. He puts her first. He leaves a short message about once a week on facebook or twitter about how special she is. He doesn’t hide their relationship or his pleasure in it. He’s proud to be her boyfriend. There’s a text on her phone from him every morning when she wakes up. He’s godly, and he doesn’t push her physically. He’s goal-oriented and smart. Do you notice I haven’t mentioned how he looks? She’s dated some very handsome guys who don’t match up to him. He’s really cute, but to her, he’s the best-looking guy she knows because of the way he is. I also didn’t mention how much money he spends on her. They spent an entire evening at our house decorating Easter eggs together. Cheap date, and they had a wonderful time. I also didn’t say he’s a college quarterback (SEC). That’s not why she dates him. When I finish the book I’m writing now, my main male character will act the way he acts.

    If you want to write a realistic dream guy, use some of those things. To girls – smart ones at least – actions speak louder than words.

    Sensei gets my vote for second place. I loved the intrigue, and he’s a very talented writer, but the ending was confusing. I could come up with several possibilities, yet none of them seemed to fit. It reminded me of an old song.

    LAURIE (STRANGE THINGS HAPPEN)
    (Milton C. Addington / Cathie Harmon)
    Dickey Lee – 1965

    Last night at the dance I met Laurie
    So lovely and warm, an angel of a girl
    Last night I fell in love with Laurie
    Strange things happen in this world

    As I walked her home, she said it was her birthday
    I pulled her close and said, “Will I see you anymore?”
    Then suddenly she asked for my sweater
    And said that she was very, very cold

    I kissed her goodnight at her door and started home
    Then thought about my sweater and went right back instead
    I knocked at her door and a man appeared
    I told him why I’d come, then he said

    “You’re wrong, son, you weren’t with my daughter
    How can you be so cruel to come to me this way?
    My Laurie left this world on her birthday
    She died a year ago today”

    A strange force drew me to the graveyard
    I stood in the dark, I saw the shadows wave
    And then I looked and saw my sweater
    Lyin’ there upon her grave

    Strange things happen in this world

    (Cue the spooky music.)

    Good job, guys. You are all talented and show promise. Keep writing!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Jennifer G.

    I am so excited I can hardly stand it! I plan to have a good ole southern glass of tea at my elbow and kids elsewhere as I read! Whoopee!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Jennifer Dahlen

    I’ve read a couple of the stories already, and they are very entertaining. This will be fun, but I can tell you right now, it will be a tough vote. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    Reply
  4. stephanie

    Wow!! I am impressed with the work of these young men…couldn’t have been easy for teenage boys to write these kinds of stories….All are good…Picking a favorite will be hard…

    Like

    Reply
  5. LucyParker

    Very interesting! Some were writing for their image of a love story, some were writing for what they thought women wanted? I picked the story that felt best right out of the gate and kept it up to the end (imo), but I enjoyed each and every one of them. Thank you, gentlemen, for sharing with us!

    Like

    Reply
  6. Ellen

    I also notices the death/ violence theme. I think it speaks to a guy’s desire to defend and protect the girl he cares about, a very good and manly theme. I chose “Friend Request” for that reason, but “Perfect” was my close second. I thought some of the others flowed a little less smoothly in the writing, though all the plots were entertaining.

    Really fun post!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Kathleen K

    Knowing all of these young writers, I was highly entertained and impressed with the work they produced! There was certainly a reflection of each of their personalities in their characters and style. Well done, gentlemen and head mistress!

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

