CaptORs or CapTIVEs?

From Wikipedia:

In psychology, Stockholm Syndrome is an apparently paradoxical  psychological phenomenon in which hostages express empathy and have positive feelings towards their captors, sometimes to the point of defending them. These feelings are generally considered irrational in light of the danger or risk endured by the victims, who essentially mistake a lack of abuse from their captors for an act of kindness.

I’m not sure if I have the above or not. There is also what is called “Lima Syndrome.” Defined as:

An inverse of Stockholm Syndrome called “Lima Syndrome” has been proposed, in which abductors develop sympathy for their hostages. It was named after an abduction at the Japanese Embassy in Lima, Peru in 1996, when members of a militant movement took hostage hundreds of people attending a party in the official residence of Japan’s ambassador. Within a few hours, the abductors had set free most of the hostages, including the most valuable ones, due to sympathy.

My trouble is, the characters of Persuasion have either so captured me that I can’t write any characters or stories that don’t have heavy elements of both grounding them, or, I have latched onto the characters and themes of P and are holding them hostage to my imagination.

I’m not sure which is going on, but I think I need help!

Are we captured by characters, or do we appropriate them for our own imaginative ends?

Take care–Susan Kaye

7 thoughts on “CaptORs or CapTIVEs?

  1. Robin Helm

    I think for me, the answer is both. While I might appropriate the P & P characters for my own ends from time to time, they usually hold me hostage. Right now, I can’t imagine writing a book without Darcy and Elizabeth. I can do without the rest of the cast, but I must have them.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      I hope you never come to the day when you can think of nothing but their deaths so that you can be free. There have been times I’ve understood so well James Caan in the movie, Misery. Thankfully, there have been no Kathy Bates around to do any chopping.

      Like

      Reply
        1. Susan Kaye Post author

          It does, but once it starts your life becomes like The War of the Roses with Michael Douglas and Kathleen turner. Eventually, if they live, you fall back in love and things equal out again.

          Like

          Reply
  2. LucyParker

    This blog makes me laugh because last night I was reading a modern mystery and my mind wouldn’t make the transition. I kept thinking “Miss Austen wouldn’t have one of her characters do that!” I have Stocklima Syndrome – JA has me coming and going, with no way out.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      LOL! Maybe that’s my trouble. Stocklima Syndrome, the geochological phenomenom whereby readers and writers are both the captives and captors of characters, both classic and contemporary.

      There must be grant money for this somewhere.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

