I’m Still Hot, But Just in Flashes Now

Lucy, these are for you and the other readers who laughed at my “Bend and Snap” blog. I actually could have pulled off that routine when I was young. In the first picture, I was our town queen and hosted our annual “Watermelon Festival.” Really.

My mother snapped the second picture in our front yard before I went to cheer at a high school football game.

I’m in the middle of the third pic – and, yes, those are hotpants and boots. Hey, chickies, I won that pageant! I was also our county Farm Bureau Queen.

Feel free to laugh at me. My “get up and go” has “got up and gone.”

This entry was posted in For real?, Humor, Robin Helm, Weight loss on by .

About Robin Helm

Robin Helm has published all three volumes of The Guardian Trilogy: Guardian, SoulFire, and Legacy. She also recently published the Yours by Design Series: Accidentally Yours, Sincerely Yours, and Forever Yours. She and her husband have two adult daughters, two sons-in-law, two granddaughters, and a Yorkie Poo named Toby.

21 thoughts on “I’m Still Hot, But Just in Flashes Now

  1. Susan Kaye

    I remember ALL those outfits. I didn’t have any of them mind. I was, and am, a jeans and T sort of gal. that was dressing up to us in North Idaho.

    Great pics, Robin.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Thank you, Annette. I really think it was a fortunate combination of his DNA with mine. The girls got the best of both of us.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Robin Helm Post author

    I love your optimism, Jakki! I don’t think I’ll ever see 118 again, and I would probably be one huge wrinkle if my weight ever went that low. Ha!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Robin Helm Post author

    I didn’t wear short-shorts anymore after I went to college (Bible college), but we lived in Florida after we married, and I did wear shorts.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Monica P

    Aww I love the pics! I thought I was huge when I was a size 10 and now…what I wouldn’t give to be there again. I did have the shorty shorts but never wore ’em with boots.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Well, dear, I am WAY older than you are! Hotpants were all the thing in 1972, and we ALWAYS wore them with boots. I actually still have those boots. Maybe if I get skinny enough . . . no, not even then. Ha!

      Like

      Reply
        1. Robin Helm Post author

          I thought I was very bold to wear hot pants in the winter. Notice that we are all in sweater material or have on long sleeves. Oh, yeah! I was cutting edge.

          Like

          Reply
  5. LucyParker

    I’m chortling at your blog title, Robin! And I bow to your queenly past. I was way too introverted to ever try out for cheerleading or pageants. (Seems that I only become a loudmouth here, on the internet.) I do remember my hot pants and the bonnet hair dryer it took to get those big hair styles. Ahh, those were the days, but I’d rather be me now. Wouldn’t you?

    Do you have any gifs of your royal wave?

    Like

    Reply
  6. Robin Helm Post author

    I’ve never been introverted. In elementary school, I was always in trouble for talking in class. I would like to look like I looked at 18 again, but I would not trade what I know now for it. My experience has been hard won.

    I was also first runner up for Princess Soya (Soybean Queen) and Miss Tiger. Alas, my queenly days are gone. Maybe if I lose all my weight I’ll enter the Mrs. South Carolina pageant for old ladies. That would be a hoot!

    I’m practicing my parade wave now. The Sugarbakers have nothing on me.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Robin Helm Post author

    Are you KIDDING???? Gayle was President of the Student Government, a debate champ, extemporaneous speaking winner, and 4H winner extraordinaire. She was also first runner-up in our town pageant. I’m sure I have a pic of her somewhere.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Robin Helm Post author

    Both of us were captain of the band in different years, and we both were thespians in the drama club. She played Emily in “Our Town.” In a different year, I was Mrs. Gibbs.

    Like

    Reply
    1. LucyParker

      Ahh, you were the girls with the energy that intimidated me in high school! I was the girl that made all the tissue paper pompoms to give to the cheerleaders to decorate for homecoming. I was the girl who hot glued and painted the scenery for ‘Our Town.” I was okay to stay on the worker bee side of things, being in the spotlight would have been atrocious for me.

      It makes me smile to know that we’re looking back with so much acceptance and ownership of our younger sweet selves. Our Bend and Snap is still there!

      Like

      Reply
      1. Robin Helm

        I very much agree with all the sentiments you expressed, Terry. I had many friends like you, and they were much better friends than the girls with the energy. Though anyone looking at me would have thought I was part of the “in” crowd, I never felt that I belonged there. I just hid it very well – and I ALWAYS had a boyfriend. It sounds sad now, but that way, I always had someone to sit with at lunch, and I had a date to every dance. The boys were much nicer to me than the girls were.

        Like

        Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

