I’m B-A-A-C-K!

So sorry I’ve been MIA this past week, but I did have a good excuse. Here she is with her proud mama and papa.

My daughter, Melanie, graduated from Anderson University yesterday with a B.S. in Early Childhood/Elementary Education, summa cum laude. Sorry – I just had to brag a little bit.

We spent the past week filling out teaching applications and making the rounds of the county schools leaving her resume and letter of introduction. She also had an interview, and two more are set up for her. We are very hopeful about her prospects for securing a teaching position.

Right now, the poor exhausted dear is cruising to the Bahamas with eight of her girlfriends. Ah, such is life!

This entry was posted in In Real Life, Robin Helm on by .

About Robin Helm

Robin Helm has published all three volumes of The Guardian Trilogy: Guardian, SoulFire, and Legacy. She also recently published the Yours by Design Series: Accidentally Yours, Sincerely Yours, and Forever Yours. She and her husband have two adult daughters, two sons-in-law, two granddaughters, and a Yorkie Poo named Toby.

12 thoughts on “I’m B-A-A-C-K!

  1. Monica P

    Aww congrats to Melanie! I know you are so proud, and rightly so. Is she going to stay in the Anderson area to teach?

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Actually, Monica, she’s coming back home to teach in our home county. We have an apartment above our garage, and she’s in the process of moving into it. She will have to redecorate of course. Ha! When she realized how much money she could save by living with us for a year or two, the prospect suddenly became very attractive. An added bonus is that our town is fairly close to her bf’s university.

      Like

      Reply
  2. LucyParker

    You go right ahead and brag all you want! She’s accomplished, beautiful, obviously smart (look who she chose for parents) and, here’s the clincher, soon to be employed!!!

    Congratulations on this milestone event for all of you! (she didn’t get here all by herself) Very happy for you!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm

      Thanks, Terry, for putting up with my obnoxious behavior. If either of my daughters ever present me with a grandchild, I’m afraid you’re in for a doting nana.

      I’m glad she didn’t inherit some of my more off-putting characteristics.

      Like

      Reply
  3. janashe

    woo-hoo! Congratulations to all of you! She couldn’t have done it without you I’m sure! So very happy for you and her. Her adult RL starts soon and I’m glad you will be there to guide and support her. My youngest of 5 is 35 and I can assure they never completely outgrow their ‘need’ for mom, though it’s a more ‘adult’ relationship, they still want mom. Which I am very happy about. And yes, grandchildren and great-granchildren are definitely the icing on the cake!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Thanks, Jan! I was there to help her through her meltdowns and give her encouragement when she wanted to give up, but she earned a full scholarship through her own hard work. We couldn’t have afforded the pricey, private college. Fortunately, all we had to pay was fees and book charges. I’m glad that she graduated without owing any money.

      She didn’t really want to move back home, because she thinks she should be independent at this age. I’m glad that she’s smart enough to think about what is best, not necessarily what she wants.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Jennifer Redlarczyk

    Best of luck to your daughter, Robin. I’m sure she will find a teaching position very soon. There is a position that is in need of her talents, just as she is willing to give. We just have to know that God has a plan and all will work out. ~Jen Red~

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm

      Thanks, Jen. God does indeed have a plan for Melanie, and fortunately, she’s seeking His plan for her life. I think she has a very bright, happy future.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Laura Hile

    Such a lovely young woman — and Robin, my dear, you look great! All the best to Melanie, and living in your apartment above the garage? Doesn’t get much better than that! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I’m getting my heart’s desire, certainly. I never thought she would come back home to live, and I’m really excited about it. She can learn to handle her independence with some guidance. Living in the apartment will give her some separation and privacy.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Laura Hile

        If all goes according to plan, we’ll have all three sons living here as well. “Any safe port in a storm,” we tell them. And such a help for them to save for a place of their own. Or, in the case of our youngest, to get through school without having to pay for room and board.

        Like

        Reply
        1. Robin Helm Post author

          That was a big issue with Mel’s decision, too. She’ll probably save $20,000 or so. If she lives here two years, she’ll have a very nice nest egg when she marries one day.

          Like

          Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

