Elvis and Darcy? You Betcha!

My friend, Mary Simonsen, wrote a blog post last week linking Jane Austen’s characters and country songs. I absolutely loved it. Close on the heels of Mary’s post, my friend M. K. Baxley e-mailed me the link to this video which blends Elvis and the 1995 BBC Pride and Prejudice mini-series. I just had to share it with all of you.

Though country music is not my favorite genre, I love all kinds of music. To me, it’s wonderful how well the video of one era meshes with the music of another – well over one hundred years later.

This entry was posted in Music, Robin Helm on by .

About Robin Helm

Robin Helm has published all three volumes of The Guardian Trilogy: Guardian, SoulFire, and Legacy. She also recently published the Yours by Design Series: Accidentally Yours, Sincerely Yours, and Forever Yours. She and her husband have two adult daughters, two sons-in-law, two granddaughters, and a Yorkie Poo named Toby.

6 thoughts on “Elvis and Darcy? You Betcha!

    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Maybe that’s why it fits so well to me. The wailing of Elvis paired with soulful, longing looks is just right.

      Like

      Reply
        1. Robin Helm Post author

          I have to agree. I would much rather look at Colin Firth than at Elvis. I have never been an Elvis fan. That’s practically a sacrilege in the South.

          Like

          Reply
  1. LucyParker

    Not a big Elvis fan, liked Willie Nelson’s version better, but if you mute the music, the video can stand on it’s own. Who can’t read Colin/Darcy’s thoughts – no soundtrack needed!

    I do enjoy a story that can pull me into a song, or a song that can pull me into a favorite story. Music and Lyrics – they can take you any place you want to be!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I hadn’t even thought of the Willie Nelson version. It’s the one that sticks in my mind.

      The music in the first Twilight movie was the best thing about it. I loved “Edward’s Lullaby” and really hated that they did not continue it throughout the series.

      This will sound strange, but sometimes when I’m driving and a good song comes on the radio, it’s almost as if I’m in a movie and the music is the sound track.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

