So, My Weigh-In Was Amazing!

Yes, friends, today is Tuesday – the day I weigh-in at Weight Watchers, and I have lost 12.6 pounds! Yes, ma’am, that was me in a smaller size. Today, our group leader spoke about motivation. I find success to be the best motivator. I liked getting another 5 pound star as well as a huge star for losing 5% of my body weight, but I don’t think about the stars for very long. However, I step on those scales every day, and I look in that mirror every morning. Seeing that goal on the horizon getting closer and closer keeps me pumped up more than a thousand stars could – unless Colin Firth or Rupert Penry-Jones were there in person presenting the awards. There’s my Darcy, very happy at my achievement.

In a few months, I’ll post a picture of myself looking so good that you’ll ask, “Who is that highly presentable woman?” I want to arrive at the Decatur Book Festival in September at least three sizes smaller. This summer, I want to go to the beach and actually go down to the beach instead of staying in the room reading. I want to wear a top made by Forever 21 instead of Omar the Tent Maker. I want to have an author picture made which doesn’t excite a cringe in me every time I look at it. I have 39 pounds to go before I achieve my goal weight, and I think I can do it. Who’s with me?

This entry was posted in Humor, In Real Life, Robin Helm, Weight loss on by .

About Robin Helm

Robin Helm has published all three volumes of The Guardian Trilogy: Guardian, SoulFire, and Legacy. She also recently published the Yours by Design Series: Accidentally Yours, Sincerely Yours, and Forever Yours. She and her husband have two adult daughters, two sons-in-law, two granddaughters, and a Yorkie Poo named Toby.

18 thoughts on “So, My Weigh-In Was Amazing!

  1. Jakki L.

    Yay, Robin! How exciting! I look forward to seeing you at the Decatur Book Festival! You will be so skinny by then, I may miss you standing behind a pole! 😉

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm

      Not much chance of that, Jakki, but at least I won’t be mistaken for the blob. I’m looking forward to meeting you, too!

      Like

      Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Thanks, Suzan. When you’re my age and trying to lose weight, every pound lost is a milestone!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Jennifer Redlarczyk

    “You go girl!” as they say. Did I tell you that the average weight gain for menapause is 26 lbs. Well I gained 36. I think that I mentioned I also went to weight watchers. Lost them, yeah I lost them! I made lifetime in March. Now….keeping it off. Never want to see those boxes of butter again! Remember….1 lb=4 sticks. You can do it Robin. The thinner you, the real you, is just around the corner. ~Jen Red~

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I’m a lifetime member from years ago, but, obviously, I gained it back. Sometimes I wonder what happened to me. This isn’t really me. I look in reflective doors and wonder who the fat lady is. Ha!

      Like

      Reply
      1. Laura Hile

        What happened? Life happened, that’s what. Childbearing packs on pounds, and so does Survival Mode. That’s when I’m overwhelmed, stuff into my mouth whatever’s available and cheap, and then become used to eating that way. Some situations are so overwhelming that I cease to care what I look like in the fight to get through another day.

        The trick is to change habits once Survival Mode is a thing of the past and I quit avoiding mirrors. It’s a tough fight, but very worth it. Not only in terms of appearance!

        I stay on track with what some consider extreme healthy eating by taking myself hostage by the lunch and snacks I bring to school. I’m hungry all the time anyway, but once I get to school I only have what I’ve brought, so I’m forced to eat that. The challenge lies in what I do when I get home … or during summer break.

        Like

        Reply
        1. Robin Helm Post author

          Right now, I’m eating the frozen Smart Ones meals and desserts along with fresh fruit. Doing so simplifies the process a great deal.

          I make myself look in mirrors and reflecting surfaces now. I used to avoid them, but I force myself to recognize what I actually look like now. It’s very motivating.

          I shall conquer this! I shall!

          Like

          Reply
  3. LucyParker

    So very happy for you, Robin! You are an inspiration to everyone that not only wants to lose weight, but wants to improve themselves in other ways.

    On Monday I went for a tour of our zoo and was able to interact with tigers (well, through their cage) sea lions and rhinos. Buzby, my new rhino boyfriend, and I had our picture taken. I don’t know how he felt but I was appalled when I saw the pic – something must be done – my hips and Buzby’s are the same. Plus, he runs faster than I do. When you’re attractive to a rhino, something must be done!

    Thank you for leading the way!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      That is hysterical! That’s the best laugh I’ve had all day! Thank you so much for sharing it.

      I’m afraid to lay out on a beach for fear I will be harpooned.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

