Tea With Alan Rickman

This slo-mo video is absolutely bizarre. Skip ahead to the four minute mark and watch uber-calm Alan Rickman totally lose it for nearly three minutes. I guess he noticed that he was being filmed.

I love the Inception music. It makes the blow-up seem almost epic.

On a lighter (pun intended) note, I lost another 1.6 pounds this week for a total of 14.2. I have thirty-seven pounds to go before I reach goal weight. That sounds like a good bit, but four weeks ago, I had fifty-three to lose. Baby steps.

38 thoughts on “Tea With Alan Rickman

  1. Laura Hile

    I can relate! Yesterday afternoon’s study hall. Yes, this could have been me, if I’d dared to lose it. But of course, as a teacher, I cannot set my tea mug flying and flip the work table. I content myself with Rickman’s ultra-cold Death Ray Glare. My, does he excel at that!

    But I think I’ll see if the used CD store has the Inception soundtrack. I could play it as a warning to Back Off Now.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Gayle Mills

    Oh, I have the stare down, Laura. I lower my head. My glasses slide down my nose a little. I look over them while raising my right eyebrow. Students literally quake. Works every time.

    Nope. Rickman has nothing on me.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Yes, Sis, you have the stare down pat. If you had been with me recently, things would have ended very differently. The glasses are classic.

      If they make another Harry Potter movie, you could be on the faculty of Hogwarts.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Robin Helm Post author

        She can pull that stare out wherever she is. It works on adults, too. I love it. She also has a look that lets me know she’s in counselor mode, just listening until I talk myself out.

        Like

        Reply
  3. Robin Helm Post author

    That would be an excellent idea, Laura. That music could put a chill into the cockiest teen. So, you have the teacher Death Ray Glare in your arsenal? It works better on teens than elementary students, believe it or not. I have taught both.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Laura Hile

      LOLOLOLOL, Gayle.

      Girl, you ought to go to the beach for the weekend more often. Heck, you ought to LIVE there! Nice to see that you’ve got your groove snark back!

      Like

      Reply
      1. Robin Helm Post author

        Yes, Laura, she does seem rather chill, does she not? Makes me wonder if she met someone down there. As long as he was not in Speedos, I will approve.

        Like

        Reply
    2. Robin Helm Post author

      No one would have dared to defy Lady C, be it elementary student, middle school student, or teen. I daresay she could have taught college courses with no problem – if she had ever studied the material.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Gayle Mills

    I’m just a perpetual ray of sunshine.

    As to the open shirt and gold chain — no thanks. I was married to one of those. Well, hey, it was the 70’s. πŸ˜‰

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Yeah, but he still wears the gold chain. I can’t bear to visualize him with an open shirt. TMI, TMI, TMI!

      Like

      Reply
  5. Susan Kaye

    STOP!! For the love of my stomach, stop putting those twisted pictures in my head.

    I think Mr. Rickman is getting better with the silvering hair. Open shirt and chains … gugh!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Laura Hile

      Oh my word, Gayle! You’re right! Sir Walter Elliot, with one of those hand-held folding tanning mirrors…

      Robin, what tunes are playing on the transistor radio?

      Like

      Reply
  6. Robin Helm Post author

    I’m laughing so hard! It’s a good thing I’m not drinking coffee, or I would spew it over my laptop.

    I now have this image of Sir Walter by a pool in his Ray-Bans and Speedos, holding a folding tanning mirror with one hand, earbud to his i-pod in his ear, lifting a pina colada to his lips with the other hand – all while surreptitiously checking out the women lying in the sun and giving them scores. 8.5, 8, 2, -1, 9, crypt keeper, double-bagger . . .

    Like

    Reply
  7. Robin Helm Post author

    Perfect. This reminds me of “How to Lose a Guy in Ten Days.”
    I’m beginning to feel like the guy hitting a block with a stick in the front when I play with the praise band. He’s moving, trying to look like he’s needed.

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

