They’re Playing Our Song

Name a song of any genre to go with any Austen character.

I’ll start.

“You’re So Vain” – Sir Walter Elliot (borrowed from the remarks on Laura’s post yesterday)

“Lean on Me” – Col. Brandon to Marianne

“Need You Now” – Darcy to Elizabeth

“Son of a Preacher Man” – Charlotte Collins

“Not Over You” – Captain Wentworth to Anne

“Baby, Come Back” – Bingley to Jane

“Oh, What a Night” – Lydia Bennet

“Poison Ivy” – Caroline Bingley

“Papa Was a Rolling Stone” – Harriet Smith

“If You Don’t Know Me By Now” – Elizabeth to Darcy

“I Am Woman” – Lady Catherine

Okay, your turn now!

This entry was posted in Humor, Music, Robin Helm on by .

About Robin Helm

Robin Helm has published all three volumes of The Guardian Trilogy: Guardian, SoulFire, and Legacy. She also recently published the Yours by Design Series: Accidentally Yours, Sincerely Yours, and Forever Yours. She and her husband have two adult daughters, two sons-in-law, two granddaughters, and a Yorkie Poo named Toby.

20 thoughts on “They’re Playing Our Song

  1. msimon43

    “Save the Last Dance for Me.” – Darcy to Elizabeth at the Netherfield Ball

    “Don’t It Make My Brown Eyes Blue?” Darcy after Elizabeth’s rejection

    I’m going to be thinking about this all day. Thanks a lot!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Monica P

    This is one of my favorite things to do! Normally I could do this all day but my.brain is such mush right now. I heard Miranda Lambert’s “Only Prettier” yesterday and got this image in my head of Lizzy and Caroline.

    I always think of Darcy when I hear “Who Are You When I’m Not Looking” (Blake Shelton) because I love those moments where he’s staring at Lizzy, drinking her in. (sigh) I can come up with some way to make almost any song remind me of Darcy – it’s a sickness. (And omg, it just came on my radio. How wierd is that!)

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Gimme Three Steps by Lynyrd Skynyrd from the All Time Greatest Hits album

      Lyrics:

      I was cutting the rug
      Down at place called The Jug
      With a girl named Linda Lou
      When in walked a man
      With a gun in his hand
      And he was looking for you know who
      He said, “Hey there, fellow
      With the hair colored yellow
      Whatcha tryin’ to prove?
      ‘Cause that’s my woman there
      And I’m a man who cares
      And this might be all for you”
      I said, “Excuse me”
      I was scared and fearing for my life
      I was shaking like a leaf on a tree
      ‘Cause he was lean, mean
      Big and bad, Lord
      Pointin’ that gun on me
      “Oh, wait a minute, mister
      I didn’t even kiss her
      Don’t want no trouble with you
      And I know you don’t owe me
      But I wish you’d let me
      Ask one favor from you”
      chorus:
      “Oh, won’t you
      Gimme three steps, gimme
      three steps, mister
      Gimme three steps toward the door?
      Gimme three steps, gimme
      three steps, mister
      And you’ll never see me no more”
      Oh, sure
      Well the crowd cleared away
      And I began to pray
      And the water fell on the floor
      And I’m telling you, son
      Well, it ain’t no fun
      Staring straight down a forty-four
      Well, he turned and
      screamed at Linda Lou
      And that’s the break I was looking for
      Well, you could hear me
      screaming a mile away
      I was headed out toward the door
      chorus
      Show me the back door

      Okay – that’s sort of PERFECT for Wickham. LOL

      The Letter
      Gimmie a ticket for an aeroplane
      Ain’t got time to take a fast train
      Lonely days are gone, I’m a goin’ home
      My baby has just wrote me a letter

      I don’t get care how much money I gotta spend
      Got to get back to my baby again
      Lonely days are gone, I’m a goin’ home
      My baby has just wrote me a letter

      Well, she wrote me a letter said she couldn’t live without me no mo’
      Listen Mister, can’t you see I got to get back to my baby once mo’
      Anyway, yeah

      Doggone! You’re good at this. That’s perfect for Anne! Ha!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Susan Kaye

    The “official” song in the background of my marriage is a raunchy number by the Eagles, but the one that makes me turn up the radio is “You’re Still the One” by Orleans.

    I dedicate this to Frederick and Anne.

    We’ve been together since way back when
    Sometimes I never want to see you again
    But I want you to know, after all these years
    You’re still the one I want whisperin’ in my ear

    You’re still the one I want to talk to in bed
    Still the one that turns my head
    We’re still having fun, and you’re still the one

    I looked at your face every day
    But I never saw it ’til I went away
    When winter came, I just wanted to go
    Deep in the desert, I longed for the snow

    You’re still the one that makes me laugh
    Still the one that’s my better half
    We’re still having fun, and you’re still the one

    You’re still the one that makes me strong
    Still the one I want to take along
    We’re still having fun, and you’re still the one

    Changing, our love is going gold
    Even though we grow old, it grows new

    You’re still the one that I love to touch
    Still the one and I can’t get enough
    We’re still having fun, and you’re still the one

    You’re still the one who can scratch my itch
    Still the one and I wouldn’t switch
    We’re still having fun, and you’re still the one

    You are still the one that makes me shout
    Still the one that I dream about
    We’re still having fun, and you’re still the one…

    My husband is still alive after 34 years because of this song!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Susan Kaye

    Oh oh! Call on me Mr. Kotter!! (Sorry all this reminiscing is getting to me.)
    I also think Alabama’s “Love in the First Degree” is a good fit for our one-woman captain.

    And I also see Charles and Mary Musgrove doing a Regency rendition of The Pina Colada Song. (They are actually rather happy except for wanting the old man’s money.)

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      It’s the end of a school year and the time for reminiscing. I’ve been to two graduations in two days. “Memories light the corners of my mind. Misty, water-colored memories of the way we were.” That’s Anne, before she gets back together with Wentworth.

      Like

      Reply
  5. LucyParker

    I’m loving this whole thread! How bout –
    “You Can’t Hurry Love” (Supremes) – Mrs. Bennet ;P
    “Sea of Love” (HoneyDrippers) – Capt. Wentworth
    “You Beat Me to the Punch” (Mary Wells) – Fanny Price to Henry Crawford

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

