Is Your City on This List?

The following is a list of America’s most well-read cities, according to Amazon:
1. Alexandria, Va.
2. Cambridge, Mass.
3. Berkeley, Calif.
4. Ann Arbor, Mich.
5. Boulder, Colo.
6. Miami
7. Arlington, Va.
8. Gainesville, Fla.
9. Washington, DC
10. Salt Lake City
11. Pittsburgh
12. Knoxville, Tenn.
13. Seattle
14. Orlando, Fla.
15. Columbia, S.C.
16. Bellevue, Wash.
17. Cincinnati
18. St. Louis
19. Atlanta
20. Richmond, Va.

I expected to find Cambridge and Berkley on the list, but I was very impressed that Columbia, South Carolina, made it into the top twenty. Trust me when I say that being well-read is not the first thing that comes to their minds when I tell people I’m from South Carolina.

As to what the folks in those listed cities are reading, Berkeley residents ordered the most travel books, while those in Boulder read books on health. Romance sells in Alexandria, which fits the promotional saying for the state (“Virginia is for lovers”). Residents of Cambridge, home to Harvard and MIT, read business and investing materials.

I suppose a book festival in Alexandria would be an excellent venue in which to sell our books. The closest one I found will be held in Washington, D.C., in September. Does anyone out there know more than Google?

This entry was posted in Quirky news items, Robin Helm on by .

About Robin Helm

Robin Helm has published all three volumes of The Guardian Trilogy: Guardian, SoulFire, and Legacy. She also recently published the Yours by Design Series: Accidentally Yours, Sincerely Yours, and Forever Yours. She and her husband have two adult daughters, two sons-in-law, two granddaughters, and a Yorkie Poo named Toby.

9 thoughts on “Is Your City on This List?

    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I know! Say it loud, and say it proud! I’m not going to quibble about whether or not Jeff Foxworthy and hunting books outselling the classics. I’m just going to smile and say that reading is a good thing.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Robin Helm

        Wow! I need a post beta. “I’m not going to quibble about whether or not Jeff Foxworthy and hunting books are outselling the classics.” I fee much better now.

        Like

        Reply
  1. janashe

    woo-hoo! Atlanta is on the list! and the grand Decatur Book Festival (one of biggest in country) is coming up Sept 1-2. There will be a JASNA-Atlanta sponsored booth for “Jane Austen – Then and Now” and fanfiction authors are definitely encouraged to be there for book signings and fun activities! Contact janashelovesJA at gmail dot com for info. Authors are invited to participate or to just send their books on for selling. Apllications are being accepted at this time.
    We would love to see everyone that loves JA there! check out Facebook page for Jane Austen Society Of North America – Georgia Regions for info under the events tab.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I plan to be there with Gayle, Jan. I need to fill out the form that Barb sent out. Do I need to e-mail you, too?

      Like

      Reply
  2. janashe

    No – just Barb. I just showed mine in the comment to answer Q’s from others who don’t know about it yet. I am SOOOOOO glad you and Gayle are coming!!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Robin Helm

    We’re looking forward to it, Jan. I need to fill the application out and get it back to Barb so that she can plan. School is out now, and I should have more time. ; )

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

