What I have learned about being a Novelist — 1

Naturally, my students LOVE Mercy’s Embrace!

Today marked my final high school Creative Writing class for the 2011-2012 school year. It was time for me, as teacher, to hear from my fine fellows about what they’ve learned.

Here, after ten minutes of furious in-class writing, is Hill Brown’s take on the experience:

I learned a ridiculous amount of things about writing this year. From deadlines to point of view, things changed all over in my writing style. There are, however, a few things that stick out.

One of my first writing hurdles was the word “said.” At first, it was nearly impossible to give up my ‘ “Such and such,” he screamed furiously with a hint of jealousy.’ But as I learned the magic of the invisible word “said,” I was able to write a much smoother story.

Hill Brown

Another thing I learned to do was give up some of the descriptive material. I learned to give up the idyllic, perfect picture in my mind for one that makes sense. It was a massive struggle, one that I may keep having to work on, but I certainly think it has made me a better writer.

I, as an aspiring writer, have enjoyed this class immensely. I wish I could take it again. I learned and grew more than I realized … until this assignment.

4 thoughts on “What I have learned about being a Novelist — 1

  1. Gayle Mills

    And THIS is why we labor in the classroom. Accolades befitting a wonderful teacher, Laura. Might you consider posting some of your “helpful insights” here? I’m sure that Anne could be your mouthpiece.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Jennifer G.

    Great. The ending was the perfect ending too. We all have so much to learn. And when we start thinking we have really grown, reality helps check us back in! Thanks for sharing about your students this year.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Robin Helm

    What a perfect blend of the right teacher with the right student. You love to teach, and he wants to learn!

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

