What I have learned about being a Novelist — 2

I have to hand it to my high school Creative Writing gents. What they learned was a lot!

After ten minutes of in-class writing, Sam Sprichwörter sums up his experience:

This year I learned many things. I learned that coming up with plausible dialog for stories is harder than it seems! Things that sound great in your head don’t always sound good on paper.

I learned that you don’t always need tons of juicy verbs and adjectives to get your point across. Using simple phrases and words like “he said” is better than “he exclaimed emotionally,” or something like that.

Sam Sprichwörter

I’ve learned to write even when I don’t feel like writing. Getting the creative juices flowing is as important as coming up with good ideas.

Writing about things you know and are excited about is important, because if you don’t know much about what you’re writing about, you’ll end up with holes in your story. If you don’t like what you’re writing about, you’ll leave your story dull.

I learned to write down ideas before I forget them! Sometimes I feel like stories may have had better plots if the author had taken the time to remember his good ideas.

6 thoughts on “What I have learned about being a Novelist — 2

  1. Laura Hile Post author

    Today marks the end of the 2011-2012 school year, and I tell you what, it’s been some week. (Class tea, Drama Club performances, “Elegant” dinner and talent show…and report cards, classroom closure …) I’m beat! However, tomorrow I’m hitting the open road, bound for a bit of R & R at my parents’ home in California.

    The student responses were so well done that I’m planning to post them all. I’m sneaking this one in before Robin’s big book launch! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Laura Hile Post author

    Didn’t they, Gayle? Out of the mouths of babes!

    I’ve learned to write even when I don’t feel like writing. Getting the creative juices flowing is as important as coming up with good ideas.

    Summer’s here … I’m going to be living by this one!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye

      I don’t even know this kid, so his writing about my personal “Issue” is just creepy.

      Oh, you mean ALL writers fight this battle. Well, who knew?

      Like

      Reply
  3. candyM

    Hi Laura,
    Thank you for sharing your creative writing class with us! I’ve enjoyed it! I wish I had a writing teacher like you! 🙂

    Have a nice time at your parents’ house!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Robin Helm

    Sam did a wonderful job on his story. I think he has a future as a writer if he cares to pursue it.

    Laura, these young men will never forget you or your class. You have done a spectacular job.

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

