Vote for your favorite Darcy and Elizabeth!


Here are you options:
1940 – Laurence Olivier and Greer Garson
1980 – David Rintoul and Elizabeth Garvie (BBC)
1995 – Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle (BBC)
2004 – Bride and Prejudice – Martin Henderson and Aishwarya Rai (Pathe)
2005 – Matthew Macfadyen and Keira Knightley (Universal)
2008 – Lost In Austen Elliot Cowan and Jemima Rooper (ITV)

Regarding the plug at the end of the video for Richard Armitage to play Darcy, I must say that while I am an RA fan, he is lamentably now too old to play Darcy. We’ll just have to enjoy North and South over and over. He IS Mr. Thornton.

I also must say that I would have chosen different music for this video. However, it is what it is. Cast your vote, and let the counting begin!

This entry was posted in Austen Actors, Cinema, Music, Robin Helm on by .

About Robin Helm

Robin Helm has published all three volumes of The Guardian Trilogy: Guardian, SoulFire, and Legacy. She also recently published the Yours by Design Series: Accidentally Yours, Sincerely Yours, and Forever Yours. She and her husband have two adult daughters, two sons-in-law, two granddaughters, and a Yorkie Poo named Toby.

60 thoughts on “Vote for your favorite Darcy and Elizabeth!

  1. Joanne 佳恩 (Chia-en) (@_jojibear)

    I’ve only ever seen two examples of Darcy, but of the two, Colin Firth is my favourite. He practically immortalised the role – there will never be any other for me.

    As for Richard Armitage. Well now. If I could – as in, if he had actually played Darcy – based off his performance as Thornton, I think he would have won hands down. Unfortunately, he never played Darcy, BUT he did play Thornton so it’s all okay! (Of course, again, if I could, Richard Armitage > Colin Firth, but it’s veeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeery close)

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm

      Firth gets a vote!

      I think Richard got a plum role when he landed Mr. Thornton. He got to play crazy angry to tender.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Annette Wristen

    My vote is “NO” to Richard Armitage. Not enough kissing scenes in P&P for him.
    Now for an opinion or two.
    I cannot get past the Americanization of the 1940 version. I love Lady C in that one.
    David Rintoul is too fair to be a Darcy.
    Colin Firth, at the risk of being hunted down and lynched, he just doesn’t do it for me. I like Jennifer as Elizabeth.
    When Martin Henderson smiles I am ready to faint.
    Matthew and Keira have great chemistry, which makes Matthew my vote, however, I would vote for Elliot Cowan if he would pick his Elizabeth, not Amanda.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm

      Bwahahaha! Love your RA remark, Annette. He does love to smolder, doesn’t he?

      I won’t hunt you down for dissing Colin. Everyone is entitled to her own opinion, *sniffs* however wrong she may be. ; )

      Matthew gets a vote by default because you really prefer Elliot.

      Like

      Reply
  3. janashe

    I own all the versions listed and watch them way too often because each has something I love about it. But it’s got to be CF – the looks he gives throughout the story just nail it for me…

    Like

    Reply
  4. Susan Kaye

    I choose the ’95 version with Ehle and Firth. Not because of either of the actors, but director, Simon Langton. I fell in love with period British work in high school when Upstairs Downstairs started. Simon Langton directed bunches of those episodes. His fingerprints are all over Pride and Prejudice.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Lindablanche

    Definitely Colin and Jennifer as Darcy and Elizabeth. However, I will say, the psysique of Elliot Cowan was exactly the image I have in mind for Darcy. Though I truly adore Richard, I think his blue eyes would throw it off for me. I think of Darcy with dark eyes. Besides, I always think of him as Mr. John Thornton.

    Like

    Reply
  6. stephanie

    I really don’t want to choose a favorite….but
    if backed into a corner it would come down to Colin vs Matthew…
    while I love Colin; he is the essence of Mr Darcy..
    my vote would go to Matthew….he is a more soulful Mr Darcy

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm

      Five for Colin; three for Matthew. Matthew is very soulful. I love him in that “My Confession” video I posted last week. When Elizabeth is outside in the early morning and watches him walk toward her across the field – my goodness! I think that might be the most romantic, masculine walk I’ve seen in a while.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Geri Sanders

        I throughly enjoying this scene when my smart a** son walked into the room and said “oh help me Oby Wan Konknoby “sp”” an ruined it with a star wars flash back/forward πŸ˜€

        Like

        Reply
        1. Robin Helm

          The nerve of him! You were having a moment. Just wait until he’s gone and watch it again. I think I’ve watched it about 10 times. ; )

          Like

          Reply
  7. Andrea

    Hmmm, I admit I’m kinda stuck between Colin and Matthew. Colin is definitely more the book Darcy, but Mathew has his own pair of “fine eyes.” On the other hand, Colin has that wistful look he get when he thinks of Lizzy, but then Matthew has those eyes which express such emotion, like in the proposal. They both have cute smiles. Since I can’t decide I’m going to give a little love to the contenders that haven’t been voted for and go for The dude from “Bride and Prejudice” he actually fights Wickham which is pretty cool.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Geri Sanders

    For Elizabeth I have a different person for the look and a tie for the acting. For the look I’ve always thought Elizabeth Garvis (as for the look and most of her mannerisms.) Jennifer Ehle and Keira Knightley Jennifer at times acts to above her station and Keira to below both of their looks I believe are totally wrong for Elizabeth especially Keira. I slightly lean toward Keira but that is because of the chemistry I feel between Matthew and Keira.
    Now for Darcy looks and the acting it is Matthew MacFadyen not sure you’ll find a better Darcy.
    That being said I was never much of a Richard Armitage fan until reading Tempt Me by Julie were we were Flooded with RA pictures and information and I finally read and then watch North and South. I will admit that had he at the correct age been picked to play Mr Darcy he just might have stolen the show but at last we will never know. πŸ˜€
    I’ve never seen and have always meant to see Bride and Prejudice so my opinion above is without any knowledge of Martin or Aishwarya performance but I’m not sold on the look though that I can say.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm

      Geri, I’m not sure who gets your votes, but I can tell you that you didn’t miss much when you failed to watch Bride and Prejudice. I laughed through the entire thing – and I don’t think it was supposed to be that funny.

      Like

      Reply
  9. Rebecca

    Favourite Darcy and Elizabeth would have to be Firth and Ehle, with my second pick being Henderson and Rai. I love Bride & Prejudice! Matthew and Keira will have to settle for third place.

    Like

    Reply
  10. Sophia

    My vote goes to Matthew and Keira since I prefer the early morning proposal and the passion Matthew shows in the rain proposal and the wit Keira shows when she disagrees with Darcy and Lady Catherine. Second place goes to Laurence Olivier and Greer Garson since Laurence has the apporiate aristocratic features to be Darcy and still have his passion showing in the end while Greer Garson is a great Elizabeth since she makes such a good show with her wit to Lady Catherine in the end before Darcy propose to her. Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle must settle for third place in my personal opinion, since they do make a great couple but I prefer Matthew and Keira, but one thing I prefer Firth for is the lake scene in the 95′ version!
    But that is just my personal opinion!

    Like

    Reply
  11. Stephanie L

    well. I’ve a split vote. LOL I like Colin for Darcy and Keira for Elizabeth…LOL however for the sake of the vote I’ll go with ’95 and Colin and Jennifer. (and the Georgiana from ’95 and the Jane from ’05 and the Wickham from ’95 and…LOL I can build my own select cast really quickly…)

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm

      Colin & Jennifer – 7
      Matthew and Keira – 4
      Martin – 1

      Stephanie, I understand completely. I definitely would like to be able to choose my favorites from each version of the Austen movies and put them together for one stellar cast, especially in the case of Persuasion.

      Like

      Reply
  12. Margay

    It’s definitely Matthew and Kiera all the way for me – they were the only ones in that bunch who were actually the correct ages when they played the part. I think Keira did a much better Elizabeth than Jennifer, she had much more fire and passion. And Matthew – oh, my gosh, when he walks through the morning mist with his coat open – sigh. He also had much more fire and passion for the part. Don’t get me wrong, Colin’s a good actor, I just prefer Matthew as Darcy.

    Like

    Reply
  13. Margay

    Oh, and I agree, if Richard Armitage had played the part, he probably would have put the others to sham. North and South – one of the best movies ever. Love it!

    Like

    Reply
  14. Robin Helm

    Colin & Jennifer – 7
    Matthew and Keira – 5
    Martin – 1

    Thanks, Margay! We all have our favorites, and though I am a Firth fan, it’s more about the screenplay with me as far as choosing my favorite version goes. Keira Knightley is stunning, and Matthew is swoon-worthy. I simply don’t like the way the film was written. It’s all about personal preferences.

    Like

    Reply
  15. Ellen

    I’m shocked that not one person has seen my favorite modernization! Kam Heskin and Orlando Seale in a 2003 version that keeps the P&P title. It’s apparently produced by Mormons and can only be found online. I have to admit that the acting is terrible at some points. The supporting cast can make you cringe. Still… is it just part of our common disease that makes me over look all this and watch it anyway?

    Now I’ve got that off my chest, my vote goes to…

    Firth and Ehle

    Watching the mini series when I was 17 was the first time I had ever heard the name Jane Austen – can you believe it! What was I doing the first 17 years of my life?

    So of course I have to vote for the two that made Austen come to life for me for the first time.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm

      Colin & Jennifer – 8
      Matthew and Keira – 4
      Martin – 1

      Ellen, I’ve never heard of that version. I’ll have to check it out. Thanks!

      My daughter’s boyfriend saw a post of mine on my FB wall and asked her who Jane Austen was. When she replied that Austen was an author who wrote Pride and Prejudice, he asked if she was a friend of mine. He’s intelligent and educated, so I can only assume that either his English lit teacher was not very good, or that he slept in her class and dreamed of sports.

      He was quite chagrined when my daughter giggled in amazement and texted me what he had said. I told him not to worry about it. After all, my husband asked him when his team (U of South Carolina) would play the Clemson Panthers or the Georgia Gators. I don’t know much about football, but even I was embarrassed by that exchange. The young man didn’t know what to say. I cleared my throat and said, “I think you mean the Clemson Tigers, because the Panthers are a pro team out of Charlotte. The Gators are from Florida, and Georgia’s team is the Bulldogs.” Obviously, we are more literary than sports-oriented. Ha!

      Like

      Reply
        1. Robin Helm

          I will admit to feeling as DEAD as Austen some days. If I didn’t know the young man so well, I might think that’s what he meant by asking if she and I were contemporaries. lol

          Like

          Reply
  16. Janet

    Colin Firth will always be ‘my Mr. Darcy’! I think he becomes the role and shows every emotion in his look, his walk and his voice. ‘Sigh’ I vote for Jennifer Ehle as Elizabeth. She does a fantastic job with her character. They are who I see when I read all of the wonderful books. In fact, I see all the characters from the 1995 miniseries. I love that one and don’t know how many times I have watched it. I have enjoyed some of the other versions but they just didn’t do it for me like the 1995 miniseries!

    Thanks for the chance to vote and voice my opinion! πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm

      I’m right there with you, Janet. I watch it at least 6 or 7 times a year. It’s my chocolate. If I’ve had a bad day, or I’m sick, or I need inspiration, or I’m tired, I pop in that CD and go to Austenland with Colin and Jennifer. I love the entire cast and the screenplay.

      Colin & Jennifer – 9
      Matthew and Keira – 4
      Martin – 1

      Like

      Reply
  17. Melissa

    Colin is a great Mark Darcy, but Matthew will forever be my Fitzwilliam!!! He is SO swoon worthy in that role!!! Soulful, passionate, and incredibly gorgeous in both proposal scenes!!! Matthew for sure!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm

      Matthew is definitely my second choice. Maybe it’s my age that makes me choose Colin and Jennifer, or perhaps it’s because I had been watching the 1995 version for 10 years before the 2005 version came out. Jane Austen has been my favorite author since I was in high school, but it became alive and addictive for me in 1995.

      Like

      Reply
  18. Erna

    I’ll take Matthew MacFayden. Colin is fantastic, but the 2005 one is the first I saw and it made the deepest impression on me. It was a great movie and i totally got into the characters’ time and place with Matthew and Keira. The movie got me going on this amazing journey to Austenland!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm

      Colin & Jennifer – 9
      Matthew and Keira – 6
      Martin – 1

      I think you make an excellent point, Erna. Our first “Mr. Darcy” is usually our favorite one it seems. Thanks!

      Like

      Reply
    1. Robin Helm

      Linda, Matthew has done us all a service by inspiring you to write. Your vote has brought him nearly neck-and-neck with Colin. I’d give Matthew three for you, but then I’d have to give Colin three for me. I haven’t voted yet. ; )

      Colin & Jennifer – 9
      Matthew and Keira – 7
      Martin – 1

      Like

      Reply
  19. Robin Helm

    Thanks, Candy! Wow, this contest is getting close!

    Colin & Jennifer – 9
    Matthew and Keira – 8
    Martin – 1

    Like

    Reply
  20. Robin Helm

    Since no one has commented on this thread in over a week, I am ready to announce the winner.

    Drum roll, please!

    Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle win the coveted title of “Favorite Darcy and Elizabeth” of all time, forever and ever. (I just added that last bit.)

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

