Monday, Monday

I woke up precisely at three this morning so I’m starting early today.

telepics.net

Courtesy of Spambot: “I am not real superb with English but I find this rattling leisurely to interpret.” So glad you find enjoyment from our “rattling.” So do I.

This week we will be reading, (quietly, in various corners), The Hunger Games. Starting next Monday, we will start airing our opinions, keeping in mind that all stories seem to have Austen Elements™ if you look closely enough.

For our American readers, do you like a holiday smack dab in the middle of the week? Or would you rather the powers-that-be shove it to a Monday so we have a three-day weekend?

I’m neutral on the subject.

Drop by and say hi.

Take care–Susan Kaye

6 thoughts on “Monday, Monday

  1. Robin Helm

    To me, July 4th wouldn’t be right on any other day. Some holidays don’t matter as much, but Independence Day has to be when it falls.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Susan Kaye Post author

    My step dad was that way about Memorial (Decoration) Day. He celebrated on the traditional day, not the Monday anointed by congress. We flew the flag both days.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Laura Hile

    Ah, Spambot. How he makes me smile.

    I guess we can’t celebrate July 4th on a different day. Plus, with the way it falls, by taking Thursday and Friday off one can have a five day trip for the “cost” of two.

    Like

    Reply
  4. lucyparker

    I will celebrate any holiday on any date that my employer wants to pay for. 😀

    Looking forward to the Hunger Games. It’s not something I would normally read, so I might be a passive observer to the group, and then again, maybe I won’t. I haven’t started it yet. Anything I should know before diving in?

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      Start looking for Austen Connections. I’m not saying there are loads of them, but I’ll be we can find, or create, a few.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

