The To Do List

Buy at the AustenEmporium

Are you reading The Hunger Games? Remember we start on Monday discussing Chapters 1-9, “The Tributes.” This covers how the Hunger Games came to be, how the contestants are selected, and what happens to the tributes along the way to The Arena. Should be interesting.

I’m also noodling a post or two on Characterization vs. Caricature when it comes to Austen fiction. It’s simple to depend on the basic lists of qualities and weaknesses of Austen’s heroes and heroines. But that’s not enough. Readers deserve full-bodied characterization that begins with the foundation Austen gave us and builds living, breathing people. And frankly, it’s dull writing cardboard cut-outs.

Since Husband and I will be on our own for the 4th, we will try to sneak in a movie. Any recommendations?

Off now to write. The goal is 2000 words a day. Last week I got 6000. Hoping for more this week.

Take care–Susan Kaye

3 thoughts on “The To Do List

  1. Robin Helm

    There’s so much in that post, Susan! I have read all of The Hunger Games books, though I will read back through a second time. If you haven’t seen the first movie, it’s good, and I was interested in the differences between the movie and the book. That’s something else to explore.

    I agree that Austen’s characters are often caricatured, and they deserve more. One of the problems is that when a writer actually makes them human instead of idealizing them, the readers balk.

    I’m in awe of your writing, but I will catch up. Things have been crazy lately, but the second chapter came together in my head today. I have to get it out before it hurts me. ; )

    Like

    Reply
  2. Laura Hile

    Thanks to Kindle, I have a collection of books going with me to Yellowstone, including Hunger Games. Ah, the deightful escape of summer reading in a tent!

    Except that we’ll be in a yurt-like cabin thing. Hoping for WiFi ! Or, you know, a handy Starbucks!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Susan Kaye Post author

    Well, no movie on the 4th. The theatre is one of those “pub” types and they only have one showing a day. 8:45 was just too late for us. We picked up a couple of cheap DVDs at WalMart. We broke even I’d say.

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

