The Great Lie

John 14:6
Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through Me.”

We may not have had much cold weather this past winter, but we had viruses and infections in vast supply. There is an even more dangerous sickness that threatens to undermine our culture: postmodernism. This insidious cancer is eating away at the foundation of our faith. It posits that there is no absolute truth. All “truth” is subjective and situational. All positions are of equal merit and must be tolerated. All but one. Anyone who professes to know “absolute truth” is ridiculed and belittled. I wish that I could say this rejection of Christ as the Way, the Truth, and the Life was limited to those who deny His deity. Unfortunately, many “Christians” today bear the name of the Savior while denying the exclusivity of His claim, “No man comes to the Father but by me.”

Paul’s admonitions are applicable to today’s political climate. We can’t afford to be immature and allow Satan to infiltrate our thinking processes. We have to stand firm. We have to drink deeply at the spiritual well of the Holy Spirit, growing the mind of Christ in us. We have to teach our children well to protect them from the onslaught of well-intentioned but desperately wicked ideas.

We have to speak the truth in love to a world that’s thirsty for the truth – even if they don’t recognize it.

Father, fill me with the Holy Spirit – the Spirit of Truth. Give me a sense of discernment to recognize those who would deceive me with the lies of Satan. Make me strong in the faith. Give me courage to stand and speak the truth in love. Amen

7 thoughts on “The Great Lie

    1. Gayle Mills

      And that’s the rub, isn’t it? Pilate recognized Truth when He stood before him, but he wasn’t willing to jeopardize his power and privilege to claim Truth for himself.

      Like

      Reply
  1. MissAmySue

    I can see your heart in this. As a recent graduate of seminary I do not want to pick a fight with you, but give another perspective.

    Lifted completely out of context, Jesus’ statement is usually presented as “Exhibit A” for Jesus’ establishment of the exclusive religion of Christianity as the sole route out of hell…and the reason everyone who doesn’t acknowledge the speaker’s version of orthodoxy is clearly hellbound.

    Someone once said “a text out of context is merely a pretext,” and nowhere does this statement apply more forcefully than to John 14:6. The context is a long heart-to-heart that Jesus had with his disciples at the Last Supper (see the beginning of John 13), on the subject of his impending crucifixion. This particular discourse actually begins at John 13:31 and continues unbroken through chapter 17. In it, Jesus is talking about his death and encouraging his disciples to stay strong, faithful, and together through the trials that are coming. His disciples aren’t exactly tracking with his message, though…at least not at the beginning of chapter 14. Having just told the disciples he’s going to prepare a place for them, Jesus reminds them that they know where he’s going and how to get there (John 14:3-4). Thomas, not so much “the doubter” as the guy who’s willing to admit his lack of clue, blurts out that he has absolutely no idea what Jesus is talking about: “Lord, we haven’t a clue where you’re going, how could we possibly know the way?” It is in response to Thomas’ spoken (and, I suspect, the others’ unspoken) question that Jesus states “I AM the way…”

    Jesus did NOT say “I am starting a new religion with you guys, and this religion is the only way to avoid hell.” Hell’s not even part of the discussion. Nor did Jesus say “no one can be saved unless he thinks in his mind that I am the son of God and I am dying for his sins.” No, Jesus says “I AM the way” directly in the context of his having just told his disciples “you know the way.” The life they have lived with Jesus during the past three-plus years of his earthly ministry, the jobs he has set them to do, the miracles they have witnessed, the teaching they have absorbed; all these things wrapped together have taught them “the way” to the Father, which is the person of Jesus himself. When Jesus goes on in John 14:11-14 to encourage the disciples to believe that the Father is in him, even this is not for “salvation” the way we think of it…it’s so they can do what they’ve seen him do and more, “so that the Father may be glorified in the Son.”

    Jesus’ words in John 14 (really, all the way through John 17) were spoken not as a warning to unbelievers, but as a comfort to those who already believe!

    The gospel of Jesus Christ claims things about him that are true of no one else. Nobody else is Jesus, and no other teaching holds the stunning uniqueness of the One who rose from the dead. But to properly frame those places where Jesus’ words confront society, or other faiths, or the Christian church, we have got to start by representing Jesus’ own words faithfully.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Robin Helm

    Thank you for your contribution, MissAmySue. I am also a Bible college graduate. When I read Gayle’s devotional, I did not see any mention of hell or exclusivity. What I thought when I read it was that she was admonishing Christians, those who already believe the truth, to stand for the truth.

    Most Scripture has many applications.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Gayle Mills

    Thanks for your input, MissAmySue. I suppose I have one question. At any point during the conversations of the Last Supper did Jesus tell His disciples of another way to the Father?

    In declaring “I Am,” Jesus was assuming for Himself the power of those words uttered previously by God Himself in Exodus 3:6 (quoted by Jesus in Matthew 22:32), “I am the God of Abraham, and the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob.” The power of the words “I am” was such that the Roman soldiers sent to arrest Jesus fell to the ground when those words left His mouth (John 18:4-6).

    Did Jesus say, “I am a way”? Did He say, “I am a truth”? Did He say, “I am a light”? Did He say, “I’m soon leaving you to die the most horrible, shameful death imaginable so that you might institute a social welfare system in my absence”?

    In the interest of full disclosure, I am no Bible scholar. My undergraduate degree is in theater and speech. My master’s is in mathematics. I am a simple person. But in my 62 years, I have listened to at least 9,360 sermons. I’ve participated in at least 20 weeks of Vacation Bible School and at least 60 weeks of revival services. I’ve filled 5 + Bibles with notes as I’ve listened and studied. I’ve never found another way to the Father, my Father, other than the one that Jesus Himself set forth.

    I AM
    The Way
    The Truth
    The Life

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

