What Tribute?

Omitted from the US coverage of the London Olympics opening ceremony was a tribute to the victims of terrorist attacks in London last year.

Scottish singer Emeli Sandé performed “Abide With Me” … but we watched Ryan Seacrest interview Michael Phelps.

Choices are made in the broadcast business, and I understand that. But to omit a tribute? There’s a link below if you’d like to see the BBC feed.

Regardless, I’ve not heard this hymn for many years, and that’s what struck me as I watched. I’d forgotten the power of the lyrics, written by a man who lay dying from tuberculosis. Heartfelt and meaningful, “Abide With Me” sums up Henry Francis Lyte’s Christian hope—a fitting choice for a tribute. Here is the Eden’s Bridge rendition, with the words, if you’d like to listen.

 
Go here if you’d like to watch the tribute.

To be honest, I didn’t “get” the dancing. Then again, a protest against terrorism isn’t entertainment.

6 thoughts on “What Tribute?

  1. Gayle Mills

    Absolutely stunning video, Laura. Thanks for this. I would totally have missed it. It really doesn’t matter what interpretation you give to the dance, in the end, the child was in the arms of the Savior and he was lifted on the backs of those who died before him. At least, that’s how I saw it.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Laura Hile Post author

    I like your take on it, Gayle.

    I thought the tribute rounded out a quirky mix of themes. I like joyous celebration and all, but… like that party-in-the-house thing had significance? I didn’t get why that was the climax, right before the Parade of Nations. Unless it meant that all Brits are party animals now. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. Robin Helm

    It was a beautiful tribute, and it should not have been cut from the US broadcast. Whether they cut it because the song was religious or because they didn’t want to offend terrorists makes no difference to me. It was important, and we should have been allowed to see it.

    I love the dance. I thought it was powerful, tasteful, and open to a variety of interpretations. I saw confusion and then peace. To me, the man was upset by the attacks, and the child represented the innocent happiness felt by Brits before the attacks. The child eventually calmed the man and brought peace to him.

    I also thought the entire dance could be construed as a prayer. We go to God when we are troubled, and He calms us. He is in control.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Robin Helm

    I love “So You Think You Can Dance,” and the judges have educated me somewhat concerning modern dance. I still think some of it is ridiculous, and they are reaching for meaning where there is none, but usually I think it’s beautiful. My daughters took dance, too, and I so enjoyed watching them.

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

