Defining Moments

In the mountains of the Blue Ridge Parkway

The Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim
Because it was grassy and wanted wear,
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I marked the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

Robert Frost

Robert Frost has always been one of my top five favorite poets, and The Road Not Taken is definitely my best-loved poem. I have had several major forks in the road of my life, and the choices I made at those junctures have made all the difference. My choice to go to Christian camp the summer before my senior year of high school changed the entire direction of my life, for it was during that camp that I accepted Christ and decided to go to a Christian college. During my college years, my whole perspective changed, and my worldview was formed. There, I met the man with whom I celebrated thirty-five years of marriage last week.

I can only imagine where I would be and what I might be doing had I not gone to that camp at that crucial point in my life, and I thank God for the people he put into my life at that time, mainly my brother-in-law and his father, who helped to steer me in the right direction.

What decisions have you made that changed the course of your life?

This entry was posted in Deep Stuff, Robin Helm on by .

About Robin Helm

Robin Helm has published all three volumes of The Guardian Trilogy: Guardian, SoulFire, and Legacy. She also recently published the Yours by Design Series: Accidentally Yours, Sincerely Yours, and Forever Yours. She and her husband have two adult daughters, two sons-in-law, two granddaughters, and a Yorkie Poo named Toby.

11 thoughts on “Defining Moments

  1. Susan Kaye

    I always have to come back to my choice to go into the Air Force in 1977. I think the decisions you make when young are the “a few degrees make all the difference” in life.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Laura Hile

    I’d have to say that our decision to come to Oregon was the defining moment. Prior to that, we had a new house in a small, mountain town in California, a church that we were helping to plant, and a community of good friends.

    And a job that was dying because of a massive technology shift, did I mention that?

    So when a position opened up in Oregon, we took it.

    I recall saying this, “God has opened the door. If we don’t go, we’ll always wonder what He had for us in Oregon.”

    We discovered what was waiting, all right. Ha, financial disaster!

    And a whole lotta growing!

    But life is more than money and a house. At this point I think we all would say that we wouldn’t trade. I wouldn’t be working as a teacher, for one thing. And if I’d never met Susan Kaye, would I have tried my hand at writing?

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm

      Some of the hardest things that have happened in my life have led me to the times of great fulfillment. God always makes lemonade out of the lemons.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Laura Hile

        Lemonade from lemons? His specialty!

        But here’s the trouble. See, the Mary Musgrove in me wants lemon meringue pie instead. Wah. No fair!

        *beating of high-heeled princess shoes against the carpet*

        Like

        Reply
        1. Robin Helm

          I’m unhappy at first when I don’t get what I want, but I get over it when I see God working. It’s amazing.

          Like

          Reply
  3. terri davis

    yes indeed, some of God’s greatest gifts happen when He says no to what we want so He can give us something much better that we never imagined asking for!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm

      We’ve talked about this recently, haven’t we, Terri? “All things work together for the good of them that love the Lord and are the called according to His purpose.” Romans 8:28. If I ever got a tat, that would be it.

      Like

      Reply
  4. janashe

    Robin, have you read this about the little boy Xander? Cris and Misty Vento released the following statement Thursday: “We’ve made the extremely difficult decision to remove our precious son Xander from life support. We send heartfelt thanks to all of you who kept our family in your thoughts and prayers; we’re appreciative of your love and support.

    We in some way hope our son’s life serves as an inspiration. He was the angel in the pool who sacrificed himself to save another. And now he continues to give as an organ donor. We were blessed to have such a kind and caring boy as Xander who set an example for all of us and even now he will be saving lives by giving of himself.”

    Xander, 4, held a struggling 3-year-old girl above the water, and after becoming exhausted, slipped below the water’s surface. He was found at the bottom of the pool.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm

      This is very sad, Jan, but someone must have taught little Xander to think of others before himself. He saved that little girl’s life by sacrificing his own, and I know that she will always remember it. Who knows what she may accomplish because she realizes she was bought with a great price?

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

