Summer Blues

summer,yellow,Persuasion,depressionSummer is a yellow month in my mind. Sunshine first of all, and then lots of dandelions make for buttery views. There are vivid greens in the background, but it’s mostly bright yellow to me. That’s why summer depressions are annoying.

Everything for the past few months has been life seen through dirty windows. Oh well, I’m not the only one.

Next week we will start Austen in August, an event being wrangled by Misty of The Book Rat blog. The Austen read this year is Persuasion so I jumped on the bandwagon for that.

Participating blog owners have been sent questions to be used as conversation starters and will be used at springboards for blog posts on our individual sites.  It should be fun so plan to “attend.”

All the in depth questions about Anne and Frederick, and the other denizens of Persuasion, reminded me that it was about this time of year that Anne was working her fingers to the bone to get Kellynch Hall ready for the Crofts. the only thing worse than moving in the heat, is moving in the snow.

I hate the thought of Anne being stuck in a dim, hot, muggy, dusty attic looking through her past. I assume because her mother kept her father monetarily in check, Anne’s childhood was cheerful enough. However, once Lady Elliot died all bets were off. Having to go through the momentoes of her dead mother and her ruined courtship with Frederick would have been especially terrible in August. Oh, and maybe she got to do some of that on her birthday! Wow, that was probably great fun. All that and having to decide which things were worth dragging to Bath, a move that was another unpleasant reminder her life was not her own.

Summer is for fun and freedom. Okay, maybe it never really has been.

Take care–Susan Kaye

Photo credit: duboxi from morguefile.com

3 thoughts on “Summer Blues

  1. Laura Hile

    I’m sorry you have the summer blues. Like its cousin the summer cold, it’s a bummer.

    “Each day has enough trouble of its own.” And during August, I do well to keep this in mind.

    Because all around me are reminders that my precious summer is a goner. Days are shorter. Leaves are beginning to turn red (yes, already!). The counter on my LauraHile.com blog shows smaller and smaller numbers. Soon enough I will be facing the first day of school.

    And like always, I realize that I have not accomplished nearly as much as I’d hoped.

    But these things pale in contrast to the discouragement Anne Elliot faced. As always, you give me plenty to think about, my friend. Thank you.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Robin Helm

    From Job: “Man is born to trouble as the sparks fly upward.” Life just isn’t easy.

    My “to do” list keeps getting longer, and my time seems to be shorter. I feel your pain.

    If Anne could end up with Captain Wentworth after all they went through, we can all know that sometimes, the good guys win. ; )

    Like

    Reply
  3. anasousa

    Dear Ms. Kane : I´m sorry to learn you do not feel well. Please accept my best wishes for a full and swift recovery. We need you.

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

