Persuading Elizabetha

Beyond Austen

If you haven’t joined Beyond Austen, you’re missing a treat. Laura Hile is posting a short story, “Persuading Elizabetha,” featuring a Rapunzel-like Elizabetha and an unusual hero, the pirate O’Manly, as well as her new book, Mercy’s Embrace: That Rogue Wind.

Gayle is also posting a wonderful short story, You See the Real Me, for your enjoyment. You won’t want to miss it.

I hope to begin regularly posting my next story, Accidentally Yours, within a month, and I would value your comments and suggestions.

Many of your other favorite writers are also there, posting stories, blogging, and chatting. Stop by. We’d love to have you!

11 thoughts on “Persuading Elizabetha

      1. Laura Hile

        See, I wanted to come boiling out of the gate, offering a romantic adventure story for your Beyond Austen readers. If I’ve snagged your interest, Robin, it means Persuading Elizabetha is doing its job.

        I’ve been rereading Rafael Sabatini’s Captain Blood for piratical ideas to twist for Captain O’Manly’s use. Because this story deserves to be finished. And published as a book, too.

        Like

        Reply
    1. Laura Hile

      I’m at the airport in Santa Barbara, California, with free WiFi and a two-hour wait. Time to get caught up! (When I’m with my parents I’m not comfortable spending hours on the Internet … which invariably happens once I’m here!)

      And wouldn’t you know, what do I find but a thinly-veiled threat. Hats off to these Carolina women. They like pirates and they pack a mean punch. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. Robin Helm

        Sounds like a plan to me.

        I’m proud to be a Carolina girl, and we specialize in the iron fist in the velvet glove. Never underestimate the power of a Carolina girl. Our daughters can wear pearls with flip-flops and make it look like a fashion statement. Ha!

        Like

        Reply
  1. Monica

    I’m way behind on my Beyond Austen reading but hopefully I’ll catch up this weeekend. Robin, I can’t wait for Accidentally Yours. You know if you need someone to “encourage” (pester) you, I’m your girl.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm

      I am actually writing again, Monica. Chapter 2 is about halfway done. It’s difficult to write because it’s back story. I have to find a way to punch it up. Once I get past this chapter, the rest will flow. Feel free to pester away; I need it. ; )

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

