This stops me in my tracks EVERY time …

Wentworth,Anne Elliot, PersuasionFrom Persuasion:

“Half the sum of attraction, on either side, might have been enough, for he had nothing to do, and she had hardly any body to love; but the encounter of such lavish recommendations could not fail. They were gradually acquainted, and when acquainted, rapidly and deeply in love. It would be difficult to say which had seen the highest perfection in the other, or which had been the happiest; she, in receiving his declarations and proposals, or he in having them accepted.

A short period of felicity followed, and but a short one.”

Wentworth’s boredom and Anne’s loneliness brought them quickly to love.

In honor of Austen in August, what’s your favorite passage from Persuasion?

Remember to visit The Book Rat for new Austen in August posts.

Take care–Susan Kaye

9 thoughts on “This stops me in my tracks EVERY time …

  1. Robin Helm

    His boredom and her loneliness may have helped the cause along, but I think they truly loved each other. Sometimes, we have to spend time away from a person with whom we’ve had a relationship in order to genuinely appreciate their qualities. Absence sometimes does make the heart grow fonder. Other times, it’s out of sight, out of mind.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      I have no doubt they loved one another quickly, but would he have given her a second glance had he not been at loose ends kicking around in the country? with hardly any money I might add. And if Anne’s family were more loving would her elegant mind have allowed her to look past Frederick’s handsome confident face to see an intelligent confident man and not just a preening peacock?

      I have no doubt that when Anne and Frederick take that walk on the gravel path, their feelings are genuine, I just know that they will have lots-O-surprises down the marriage road because they’ve not spent all that much time together.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Wendi Sotis

    I can’t think of anything at the moment. Sorry, the writer in me is stuck on the word “short” twice in one sentence! Oh, Jane!

    To me, that passage shows that while they didn’t fall madly in love at first sight, they were truly in love. Sigh.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      I think they were genuinely in love, I just think that the circumstances worked in their favor and might that things might have been very different with a more loving family for Anne.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Robin Helm

    I have spent the day writing my piece for Thursday so that I can post it and time it since I’ll be in school then. Going back through the book with a critical eye is very enlightening. I’m struck again by the delicacy and purity of Austen’s writing, as well as by the strength of her characters.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Gayle Mills

    “I can listen no longer in silence. I must speak to you by such means as are within my reach. You pierce my soul. I am half agony, half hope. Tell me not that I am too late, that such precious feelings are gone for ever. I offer myself to you again with a heart even more your own than when you almost broke it, eight years and a half ago. Dare not say that man forgets sooner than woman, that his love has an earlier death. I have loved none but you. Unjust I may have been, weak and resentful I have been, but never inconstant. You alone have brought me to Bath. For you alone, I think and plan. Have you not seen this? Can you fail to have understood my wishes? I had not waited even these ten days, could I have read your feelings, as I think you must have penetrated mine. I can hardly write. I am every instant hearing something which overpowers me. You sink your voice, but I can distinguish the tones of that voice when they would be lost on others. Too good, too excellent creature! You do us justice, indeed. You do believe that there is true attachment and constancy among men. Believe it to be most fervent, most undeviating, in F. W.

    I must go, uncertain of my fate; but I shall return hither, or follow your party, as soon as possible. A word, a look, will be enough to decide whether I enter your father’s house this evening or never.”
    Persuasion, Ch. 23

    “A man does not recover from such a devotion of the heart to such a woman! He ought not; he does not.”
    Persuasion, Ch. 20

    “There could have been no two hearts so open, no tastes so similar, no feelings so in unison….”

    “We live at home, quiet, confined, and our feelings prey upon us.”

    Like

    Reply
  5. Susan Kaye Post author

    I’ve chosen lines that aren’t in Persuasion.

    What did Frederick say to little Walter when he took him from Anne’s back?

    What did Frederick say to Mrs Musgrove at the dinner party when he was speaking to her about her son, Richard?

    What excuses did he give for not seeing Louisa after her fall at Lyme?

    What did he say to Sir Walter when he asked for Anne’s hand the second time?

    I wrote what I thought might happen, but I’ve always wondered what Jane had in mind.

    Like

    Reply
  6. AmyFlo

    From Chapter 21 – She felt a great deal of goodwill towards him [Mr. Elliot]. In spite of the mischief of his attentions, she owed him gratitude and regard, perhaps compassion. She could not help thinking much of the extraordinary circumstances attending their acquaintance, of the right which he seemed to have to interest her, by everything in situation, by his own sentiments, by his early prepossession. It was altogether very extraordinary; flattering, but painful. There was much to regret. How she might have felt had there been no Captain Wentworth in the case, was not worth enquiry; for there was a Captain Wentworth; and be the conclusion of the present suspense good or bad, her affection would be his for ever. Their union, she believed, could not divide her more from other men than their final separation.

    I had to put the entire paragraph for context, but I love the idea of Anne dismissing any notion of “could have beens” when it comes to Mr. Elliot. Her heart was, is, and always will be, Frederick’s. And this is before any of Mrs. Smith’s revelation is disclosed.

    Also, from Chapter 24 – Anne was tenderness itself, and she had the full worth of it in Captain Wentworth’s affection.

    If, for no other reason, that I have a lovely piece of fan art with this sentence and a very happy Anne and Wentworth walking down the street. And I love the idea of their being so totally happy together.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Laura Hile

    I *knew* I should have packed my print copy of Persuasion!

    Much as I love the convenience of the Kindle, for discussion purposes the ebook is a tough go. I’ll find and post my favorite passage tomorrow, when I’ll be able to flip through pages. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

