I don’t like Facebook anyway …

The ultimate punishment

I don’t dislike Facebook because I invested in the stock a few weeks ago and have lost vast sums of money, but because it’s a time sink that keeps me from doing things that have some real value. These are things like cleaning my bathroom, washing the kitchen floor, laundry, and rearranging the deck chairs on my own personal Titanic when the need arises.

Now that we’ve established that I don’t like Facebook, I have to say what really bugs me is when people on my Friend list are lecturing me that they don’t care for various kinds of posts and and that I should refrain from putting those sorts of things up. They leave the distinct impression that the Sword of UnFriendoclese is now teetering above my cyber head.

When we studied the meaning of the word “tolerance” in school, chucklehead that I am, took it seriously and believe I should allow for differences and either engage in civil discourse when I disagree, or move along, leaving the other party unscathed. Civil discourse is now a rarity, but we all do know how to use the scroll button. So why don’t we?

I have very few friends on my personal page, but lately an inordinate number of

From thebestgossip.com

them are letting me know their personal preferences when it comes to particularly politics. I don’t tend to post much in the way of political things, but I do agree with others bolder than I and do comment frequently. Now if these comments are getting under the skin of folks, I am at a loss. They are whittling down my options for conversation.

Some of these friends are family members, others are people I know from church, others are writers with whom I have a personal relationship. Let me assure you that I am not quick on the unfriend button. Other than one guy who decided anyone who disagreed with him about the legalization of marijuana hated him, I have never unfriended anyone. And he had to get personal and nasty before I did anything.

I’m pretty easygoing about what others post, even when they send me requests for farm equipment, fairy dust, or any of a number of other things from boring games on FB. My writer friends regularly put up quotes from famous authors. At this point in my career, there are few I haven’t heard. I scroll on by. I have some guys on my list who love sports. I don’t. I don’t badger them about how they bore me with their hobbyhorses, I just scroll.  The other post that rubs me wrong is the, “I’m cleaning out my Facebook Friends list. Do you care for me? Show me the love by posting something wonderful about me so I’ll keep you on my list” posts. Yep, you got it, I scroll on by. The same goes for inspirational posters, shoes, tasteless jokes, the if-you-love-me-then-share-this-to-prove-it posts, and the ones that bellyache about what Facebook is doing next to ruin, run, and generally wreck our lives.

Here’s my advice, if you don’t like what people are posting on Facebook, unfriend them, scroll on by, or terminate your account. Don’t ask for or accept friend requests and then start dictating to others what to put on their page. I’m not friends with anyone under the age of 30. I just wish they’d act like it.

Take care–Susan Kaye

13 thoughts on “I don’t like Facebook anyway …

  1. Robin Helm

    You can also block them, and they’ll never know it.

    Yes, I post quotations and political statements, and I realize that others will disagree with me. That’s fine. I love a good discussion. Don’t become angry with me because my opinion differs from yours.

    I also dislike it when a “friend” posts something controversial, I respond, they reply, and then they say the discussion is over. Really? No one is allowed to disagree?

    To me, Facebook is a place to keep up with friends and family and interact with others whom I want to know better. I scroll by multitudes of banal posts and status updates every day. I don’t unfriend people because they bore me with an update twenty times a day or they post the same “I’m holding my phone at arm’s length and smiling at it” picture every ten minutes. And, guys, we don’t want to see you in the bathroom mirror with your shirt off unless we are more than Facebook friends.

    People who want to avoid controversy should stick to Pinterest.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      I stumbled on Pinterest just before it went supernova. You’d think that just pictures wouldn’t cause such a stir, but there were some hellacious thread wars, particularly over body image issues. YIKES!

      My biggest objection with my “friends” who send these “don’t sully my Facebook page” pleas is that their page is attached to my page, and this is by design. Of course my political polemics–if that’s what is offensive to them–appear on their page, while their save-the-fill-in-the-blank posts appear on mine.

      This is “I have a right to not be offended” and I guess I’ve been smacked around for so long in the public arena that I know that’s not true.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Robin Helm

    Unless they tag you, their stuff comes through your newsfeed, but it isn’t on your page (unless they post it there). I have a very quick scrolling finger when it comes to the newsfeed.

    My skin is getting thicker every day. Common sense is so uncommon that it should be categorized as a superpower.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Laura Hile

    Alas for the “Facebook Minute.”

    I get on “just to check” … and an hour later I look at the clock. I’m still trying to figure out how to navigate Twitter. You know, as a friendly exchange with humans instead of a “Look at me! Look at my books!” proclamation.

    I hear you with the political rant stuff. Much more is accomplished by way of wry humor, I think. But then, I enjoy the subtle jab, the one that makes you think.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Robin Helm

    The subtle jab goes right over the heads of most people. I try not to post political rants, but I should be able to post a link or a funny pic without causing an international incident.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Eileen

    Good post. It’s interesting seeing your FB friends’ Likes and Comments on “controversial” issues. Some surprise me, but “c’est la vie”. Some view FB as a place to pause and discuss an issue, and others see it as a mountaintop, from which to shout their views. They’re not looking for real feedback.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Susan Kaye Post author

    I look at Facebook as a way to stay connected to my immediate family members by using their Groups feature. That is private and no one sees the content there. The rest of Facebook is a lot like Hyde Park with everyone mounting their soapboxes occasionally to give us all a good shout.

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

