We didn’t always like each other…”

Arlo Guthrie is a name from my past. I remember “Alice’s Restaurant.” The 70s were boom time for the talking story song and this was one of the biggies. Sunday his wife died of complications from cancer. This is part of “Epilogue” That appears on his Facebook page about her passing:

The sun rose on my world this morning. Jackie stayed with us throughout the night, lingering in our hearts just out of sight but clearly present. She woke me before sunrise in a dream saying that the hour had come when she would need to leave us and be gone before the sun arose. As her words awakened me I walked outside and stood looking over the river talking with her in the predawn twilight we both loved so much. It was our time and for years she brought me coffee as I took photographs of morning on the river.

There are loves, and there are LOVES. Ours was and will continue to be what it has always been – A very great love. We didn’t always like each other. From time to time there were moments when we’d have our bags packed by the door. But, there was this great love that we shared from the moment we met – a recognition – It’s YOU! And we would always return to it year after year, decade after decade and I believe life after lifetime.

Read the rest HERE.

He’s a songwriter and they, sometimes more than prose writers can convey the wonder of human existence.

Take care–Susan Kaye

10 thoughts on “We didn’t always like each other…”

  1. Candy M

    The man can write! Just what you have posted here had me tearing up.

    Yes, I remember “Alice’s Restaurant”, in fact about a year ago, we went downtown for a fundraiser at the old Fox Theater to watch the movie they made, “Alice’s Restaurant” Lol! I saw him in concert back in the early 80s.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      I loved the line about the bags being packed but things shifting back in time. I’ve been married for 35 years and I can say a hearty “amen.” Some people fall in love over and over with different people. I’ve fallen in love over and over with the same man. I like my way best.

      Thanks for commenting, Candy.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Laura Hile

    Ah, the story song, with words that made us stop and think. And the comic song, just-for-fun silly stuff that had us smiling and rolling our eyes. What happened to those? Are we so jaded, so unimaginative nowadays?

    (Or maybe I’m the one who’s jaded and stuck in a rut!) Thanks for the memories, Susan.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      This is probably TMI, but all you have to do is turn on “Brandy” by Looking Glass and I’m a puddle. That response was standard for me decades before I fell for sea-faring Frederick. And, Barry Manilow, despite all the plastic surgery, is still one of the best when it comes to the story song.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Robin Helm

    I’m such a Barry Manilow fan, though I don’t broadcast it. “Copacabana,” “Mandy,” “One Voice,” and all of his other songs are wonderful to me. He tells stories, evokes memories, and just stays there in my head.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      Though not technically a story song, “Weekend in New England” is one of those, I-stop-in-the-store-with-a-blank-look-even-when-it’s-just-Muzak kind of deals for me.

      Like

      Reply
    2. Laura Hile

      Manilow is a master at capturing an emotion with a sweep-away melody. Where has melody been hiding recently? So many new songs just aren’t very tuneful. And in a minor key?

      What does that say about us?

      Like

      Reply
      1. Susan Kaye Post author

        It says that most of us have no musical training at all and that we have no basis by which to judge a piece, other than how it makes us “feel.”

        Like

        Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

