Na no na no na no

Nanowrimo website

 

Are you no noing this year?

11 thoughts on “Na no na no na no

  1. Laura Hile

    Delusional me. I should be Na Noing this year. But alas, I am swayed by enthusiasm—and desperation! If joining in will net me 1700 words a day, even for a single week, I’m ahead. So …

    … we’ll see how long it is until my schedule catches up with me. (Report cards are at the end of next week, with parent conferences soon after.)

    Ah, November!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Laura Hile

      A big part of this is knowing that I shrug off deadlines when I know they’re not vitally important. However, I have 1400 more words than I did yesterday, so I’m “winning” at NaNo.

      Question is, how far will I get before my schedule closes in and I peter out? 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. Rebecca

    This is my third year doing NaNo and I think I’m learning a lot this time around – mostly about how to take writing from a hobby to a potential career. I might actually be able to do this full-time if I can learn to handle deadlines by breaking down the work into manageable word count goals.

    I’m doing “backwards NaNo,” so that means large word goals at the beginning, stepping down each day until there’s very little left to write in the last few days. It seems to be taking advantage of the initial excitement that can propel a NaNoWriMo participant, so I’m sitting at 22,000 words after the first week. (Wow!)

    Like

    Reply
  3. Laura Hile

    Rebecca, yours is one smart strategy. That is an impressive number for this point in the game, yay! 🙂

    And we hear you about taking writing from a hobby to a career. It’s all about consistency. I remind myself that published writers, like career musicians, are not those with the most talent but with the most persistence. To succeed in this business, I need NaNo every day. It’s a tall order, making one’s living from one’s imagination.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Rebecca

      I’m not even a career person, more of a domestic one. But I would like to not be tortured by the beginnings of stories that never go anywhere, so discipline seems like the right course of action. And I will admit I’d love to see my name on a book cover. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  4. Rebecca

    Finished yesterday. What a ride! Must research and edit soon so I don’t slack off until the next NaNo. 😉 Thinking I’ll take December off and get back to it in January (along with the usual “proper exercise” resolution).

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

