A Very Unique Giveaway

!!UPDATE!! The day planner is in the east being dolled up by Robin and Gayle. Barbara has checked in with her additions. After Christmas Pamela will get it and then, after our drawing on the 1st, we’ll send it off to the lucky winner. Progress is being made.

It’s the Christmas season and we’re all busy so I’m going to get right to the point: Jane Started It! has some of the best writers of Austen-based fiction in the world posting free stories, humorous blog posts, and interesting takes on the world around us. That being the case, when we decided to have a year-end giveaway, wanted to do something more original that giving away a book or two.

We came up with this:

Blue Sky Planners

Blue Sky Planners

And you’re thinking this has “so what” written all over it.

Yes, this is an attractive but pretty pedestrian day planner. The unique thing about it is that all the ladies of Jane Started It! are writing messages, insider tid bits, and fun fodder related to our books and Miss Austen’s novels all over the place.

Just think, on a gray day in March, you’ll find a message from one of us. It might be personal, it might be something about one of your favorite characters. It might be a rumor about on of your least favorite characters!

To enter, leave comment before midnight, January 1, 2013.

Say, how about sharing one of your 2013 New Year’s Resolutions with us? πŸ™‚

We’re trying out Rafflecopter for this giveaway, so follow the link below. For extra entries, Tweet and share on Facebook. USA only shipment (the calendar has only American holidays, sorry).

As we are spread out over the country, the winner won’t receive the planner in time to use it January 1st. But we’ll get it out as soon as we get finished scribbling!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The blog will continue apace so scroll down fro fresh content.

38 thoughts on “A Very Unique Giveaway

  1. Sophia Rose

    I love this idea. I think its very creative and fun. Thanks for the chance to win such a prize.

    One of my New Year’s Resolutions is to be faithful to the Gluten-free diet that I’ve been placed on (I can’t believe how many things I love have gluten in them) and I always challenge myself to read through the Bible in a year at a slow pace so I can absorb what I’m reading. ;D There are more goals, but I’ll stop with those.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Gayle Mills

      A fellow teacher at school has been gluten-free for a year now due to extreme health issues. She has lost a tremendous amount of weight, and she looks great! Even better, she’s not sick anymore.
      Good luck! Incidentally, Amazon offers free gluten-free recipe books frequently. You might check them out.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Jeanne Talbot

    This may sound maudlin, but my NY’s resolution is to learn about wills and trusts, then create my own. After all, who will inherit all my Jane Austen related books when I am gone? πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm

      That’s an excellent idea, Jeanne. I was thinking yesterday that we need to update our wills. Mel is 22 now, and she was 17 when we made our wills. She no longer needs a guardian. There are many small adjustments which need to be made.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Susan Kaye Post author

        My Mom’s will is so old that my (at the time) minor brother is put into my guardianship on her death. He’s now 48. He wouldn’t like coming to live with me.

        Like

        Reply
  3. Danielle

    I think this is a wonderful idea for a giveaway.

    My goal this year is to get ready for my move to the Dominican Republic. And to read a few of the 1000 plus page books on my shelf.

    Like

    Reply
      1. Danielle C

        Moving I can do without but I am looking forward to going. The most crucial step has been all settled…..I have a dedicated book buyer and mailer person. πŸ™‚

        Like

        Reply
  4. Wendi Sotis

    Great giveaway!

    Along with all the usual New Year’s resolutions, we’re going to start having a “family game night” once a week. We all had a lot of fun playing games together during the Superstorm blackout. It’s just too easy for everyone to go their separate ways after dinner these days.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      For various reasons, some nutritious and one or two philosophical, Pepsi is going on the heap for me this year. I’ll keep you mind, Colleen, when my hands start shaking!

      Like

      Reply
  5. Stephanie Carrico

    Just to live each day to the fullest….life is too short..
    Have many familiy members who are sick (cancer)…enjoy everyday with them….

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      Thanks for the reminder, Stephanie. Life is short and the best defense against sorrow is caring. A good deep belly laugh on occasion is pretty effective as well.

      Like

      Reply
  6. Monica P

    Oh this is a great idea for a giveaway! One of my New Year’s resolutions is to cut way back on my diet Coke consumption, if I can’t kick it all together (I say as I’m drinking one now).

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      Giving up the non-alcoholic bubbly seems to be a popular resolution this year. Maybe we should form a support group. Carbonated Anonymous anyone?

      Like

      Reply
  7. Tere Garcia Ruy Sanchez

    What fun! I would love to get one of those! Just leave me space to schedule my work and it will be the greatest!

    Like

    Reply
  8. Robin Helm

    We had to set personal and professional goals at the beginning of the school year. I’m happy to say that I’m well on my way to meeting them. I confess that I didn’t make them impossible to reach.

    Like

    Reply
  9. Annette Wristen

    Ok, my goal/resolution or whatever you want to call it is complicated.
    I have researched this extensively and discovered that it takes about 30 days to create a habit. That means I have a total of 12 goals. I have already implimented the first goal and that is prayer.
    I did a search on FB for apps and found a random prayer app. So each day, before I do anything else on FB, I can check for a random FB friend to pray for.
    I will choose my next goal near the end of January.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Annette Wristen

      It is amazing. My first prayer person was my great-niece. Her grandma had just called me the previous day. My second prayer was for my half-brother who is going through a tough emotional upheaval. My third prayer was for the mayor of our township.
      The order seems so appropriate to me.

      Like

      Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      I’m with you, Annette. When it comes to those stubborn resolutions, or any resolution for that matter, an extra 9 days can’t hurt a bit.

      Like

      Reply
  10. Jakki L.

    I like this giveaway!! πŸ™‚ Hmm. New Year’s resolution? I usually don’t make them, though I guess I have a lot of areas in which to improve. Let’s start by striving to be a better mommy (there is always room for improvement there). Then maybe be more organized and disciplined with my time management. This is something I really need to work on. Having a third child will either help or hinder this, I am not sure… but we will find out in a few weeks! πŸ˜‰
    Thanks so much for this fun giveaway, ladies!! πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      Congratulations one the new addition. My SIL said after having her third it was simpler intergrating her to the family than when she later had her fourth. I have no experience. Hubby and I never allowed ourselves to be outnumbered. πŸ˜‰

      Happy New Year.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

