Have Mercy!

Mercy's Embrace and Chloe 004I received a lovely surprise yesterday. My friend and fellow Crown Hill Writer’s Guild author, Laura Hile, sent me an autographed set of her wonderful Mercy’s Embrace series. I have already read her intriguing books on Kindle, but I am delighted to have a print set inscribed with her personal messages to me.

If you have not read these books, I can recommend them to you wholeheartedly. The trilogy is a sequel to Austen’s Persuasion, extending the story of Elizabeth Elliot and introducing Admiral Patrick (swoon) McGillvary. Her writing is lively, playful, thoughtful, and delicate. Laura is a master of her craft. If you think you could never like Elizabeth Elliot, you are mistaken. Though Laura keeps Elizabeth in character, the glimpses into Elizabeth’s mind give the reader a chance to know her better. With that deeper knowledge comes affection for her.

Don’t miss these gems. Read the Mercy’s Embrace series and encourage Laura to finish the fourth book in the series this year!

10 thoughts on “Have Mercy!

  1. Susan Kaye

    I keep encouraging her. If you’ve bought the set in the past, buy another set for a friend. As crass and unromantic as it may be, seeing that people like your work enough to buy is encourages like nothing else can.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Robin Helm

    That’s so true, Susan. We writers are not the most secure people in the world. We put our babies out there for general consumption, and we are proud parents when they are praised.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Laura Hile

    Bless you, Robin and Susan, for your kind encouragement. Praise from you means a lot.

    I caught a TV documentary about Pixar Studios this past week. How clearly the Pixar animators described the dilemma creative types face. After a successful first series of books (for me; it was Toy Story for Pixar), putting together that second project is scary hard. 🙂

    One of them actually quoted a favorite line from Galaxy Quest. “Never give up, never surrender!”

    Like

    Reply
  4. Robin Helm

    Galaxy Quest is a classic. Yes, after completing the trilogy, which was so clear in my head from start to finish, this fourth book is harder to write. I wondered if I would be able to finish it, but it’s going well as of today, and I have an idea for my next book. It won’t be traditional either. I guess I do only variations with Christian and/or supernatural elements. We’ll have to get back on Austen Avengers when the summer comes, Laura!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Susan Kaye

    For any of us attempting to keep up the illusion of creativity, (this includes me at the moment), try streaming some segments of On Story from the Austen Film Festival. Directors and screenwriters mostly but all talking about the creative process. This episode, The Heart of a Film is excellent. John Lasseter of Pixar is a participant. There is a short film at the end, Playing Ghost. If this doesn’t do things to you, you have no soul.

    Like

    Reply
      1. Susan Kaye

        John Lasseter said that in creating a Pixar film, it takes about 4 years. About 3 1/2 of that is working on story.

        We were created for such a time as this.

        Like

        Reply
  6. Robin Helm

    I’m going to check that out, Susan. Okay, Pixar has been mentioned twice, and that makes me think of Disney. I just have to say that I am SO excited that Disney bought the rights to Stars Wars from LucasFilms. There WILL be three more Star Wars movies. They had better do it right. That’s a warning.

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

