Super or Stupor?

"I Would Do Anything for Love" - but  not this!

“I Would Do Anything for Love” – but not this!

The commercials for the Super Bowl game are usually a huge topic of conversation the week before the game. The first link is for the “best and worst” commercials. The spots are hugely expensive, and I’m sure the marketing departments of the companies footing the bills are in a panic, hoping that their commercial will be “the one,” the hit that everyone talks about AFTER the event. Some people watch the game just to see the commercials.

I’m going to save you the trouble of going back through that DVR, folks. Here are fifty-one commercials shown last night in New Orleans. The Go Daddy spots are a little creepy, and I certainly don’t endorse all of these products. Read the blurb below the commercial before you play it if you think you might be offended by nagging wives, robotic supermodels, Kate Upton (sadly, from South Carolina), world domination beer ads, nursing home residents partying after the staff leaves, or a Calvin Klein model in his underwear doing the Richard Armitage eye-smoulder. Be sure to watch the Doritos ad and the M & M spot. They’re my favorites.

Here’s the M & M “Anything for Love” winner.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Humor, Quirky news items, Robin Helm on by .

About Robin Helm

Robin Helm has published all three volumes of The Guardian Trilogy: Guardian, SoulFire, and Legacy. She also recently published the Yours by Design Series: Accidentally Yours, Sincerely Yours, and Forever Yours. She and her husband have two adult daughters, two sons-in-law, two granddaughters, and a Yorkie Poo named Toby.

14 thoughts on “Super or Stupor?

  1. Susan Kaye

    There are not enough dictionaries in the world to express my disinterest in the whole even, commercials included. My comments here are about the only effort I make concerning the thing.

    Go Daddy’s commercials are always creepy. Come to think, most commercials in general are creepy these days.

    We did Firefly, The Big Bang Theory, America’s Funniest Home Videos, and Downton Abbey. We are nothing if not eclectic.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Mooselicker

    I don’t have cable so I listened to the game on the radio to be in-tune with the rest of the world. I heard a couple ads for a morning radio show that sounded terrible. I hope I didn’t miss out on much.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Robin Helm

    I didn’t watch the game. A news article with links to the commercials came in my e-mail this morning. I’m more interested in college football than NFL right now. I may be more interested in the NFL later. Who knows?

    Like

    Reply
  4. Susan Kaye

    My father quashed all interest in football for me. The reverberation of “FUMBLE” throughout the house when I was growing up put me off. I did love football in HS, but that may have been the social aspect and getting out of the house. Who can say? πŸ˜‰

    Like

    Reply
  5. Robin Helm

    Same thing happened with me and my dad as far as car racing goes. Hearing that noise every Sunday afternoon put me permanently off the sport.

    I’m enjoying my football obsession right now. Who knows whether or not it will last?

    Like

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye

      I enjoy the occasional obsession. I’m getting a crafting one right now. The choice is between a painting craft and a needlecraft. Mmm, thinking.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

