Downton Abbey presents “What Makes You Beautiful”

I love this pose of Lady Violet.

I love this pose of Lady Violet.

Since Downton Abbey seems to be everywhere as fans adjust to life without the hit UK drama for a few months, this mashup of two British pop culture sensations might be just the “pick-me-up” you need. Richard Sandling has rearranged the cast’s dialogue so that it looks like they are singing One Direction’s “What Makes You Beautiful.” It is cheesy, I’ll grant you, but it’s clean fun and quite innovative.

I particularly liked the the “Na na na na na” bridge, beginning at the 2:06 mark. Just after that, watch for some cool dance moves by Lady Violet, Lord Grantham, and a few others.

Well, now I’ve seen everything!

11 thoughts on “Downton Abbey presents “What Makes You Beautiful”

    1. Susan Kaye

      They’re a perfect fit for the situation, but these choruses and verses are contextually spot on:

      She rushes to his arms,
      They fall together
      She whispers that it’s only for awhile
      She swears that soon she’ll be comin’ back forever
      She pulls away and leaves him with a smile

      You can’t hide your lyin’ eyes
      And your smile is a thin disguise
      I thought by now you’d realize
      There ain’t no way to hide you lyin’ eyes

      She gets up and pours herself a strong one
      And stares out at the stars up in the sky
      Another night, it’s gonna be a long one
      She draws the shade and hangs her head to cry

      She wonders how it ever got this crazy
      She thinks about a boy she knew in school
      Did she get tired or did she just get lazy?
      She’s so far gone she feels just like a fool

      My, oh my, you sure know how to arrange things
      You set it up so well, so carefully
      Ain’t it funny how your new life didn’t change things
      You’re still the same old girl you used to be

      You can’t hide your lyin eyes
      And your smile is a thin disguise
      I thought by now you’d realize
      There ain’t no way to hide your lyin’ eyes
      There ain’t no way to hide your lyin’ eyes
      Honey, you can’t hide your lyin’ eyes

      Like

      Reply
  1. Robin Helm Post author

    I’ve already seen that, too. Edith really isn’t very likeable, but she is really garnering my sympathy. I think “Delta Dawn” would also apply to her.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Susan Kaye

    Well, and we still don’t know anything about Michael Gregson’s “indisposed” wife. I’m sure Edith hasn’t done a background check. Is the woman really in a mental institution or is she terminally vacationing to stay away from her rattish husband?

    Anyway you slice it, Edith is going in eyes wide open. But you can’t make people who are morally blind see a blessed thing.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Robin Helm Post author

    I really hadn’t thought of it from the angle that Gregson could be lying. I would want to see the lady myself. Even then, I agree that she shouldn’t become involved in what will surely lead to adultery.

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

