I am so ready …

…for the phrase, “Let’s do this thing,” to be eliminated from all TV shows and movies. Particularly from the Handbook of Cliches and Pat Phrases used to write young, female police officers.

violetUPDATE. And more disturbing is that when I used the terms “granny” and “old granny” to find a funny image to accompany this post, I got no images but did get this message: “The search old granny may return explicit adult content and has been filtered by your Bing SafeSearch settings.Your current Bing SafeSearch setting filters out results that might return adult content.”

In other words, the images brought up by those search terms were most likely of unclothed grannies, and grannies in compromising positions. That’s why I chose to use dear Violet, she keeps her clothes on.

So-o, back to the subject at hand. No, the subject is not nekked grannies but annoying and over-used phrases. What is number one on your list of phrases that need to be retired? Let us know what phrase sets your teeth on edge and makes you want to go postal. Maybe “going postal” is it. Anyway, vent, you’ll feel better.

You’ll please excuse me, I have to go look for a horrible car wreck to take my mind off this.

Take care–Susan Kaye.

4 thoughts on “I am so ready …

  1. Susan Kaye Post author

    Eeewwww. If a phrase can be taken in a salacious way, that’s how I take it. I’ve lived in this culture too long not to.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Robin Helm

    Exactly. It’s supposed to mean, “I understand you. I agree with you.” But that’s not what it says. Linnea answered my tweet about this blog post with, “Have a good one.” Have a good what?

    Like

    Reply
  3. Susan Kaye Post author

    I do say “have a good one” and I mean a good day. But I suppose it could be have a good life if you’re breaking up, a good car wreck if, again, you’re breaking up, or if you’re a Klingon it could mean have a good death.

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

