The Hamburgers of My Childhood

George Motz, Hamburger Expert  Somebody's Mr. Darcy

George Motz
Somebody’s Mr. Darcy

There are a few days remaining of National Hamburger Week (according to which source you check), so dig out that grill and fire it up. According to some, it’s in December. Others report next week to be the big celebration. Since some sites say May is National Hamburger Month, I’m not going to agonize over accuracy. Just leave off the pickles, because National Pickle Week isn’t until next week.

Hamburger

Oddly enough, until today I had never heard of George Motz, the creator of the Food Film Festival, the writer of “Hamburger America” book, star of the “Hamburger America” Film, developer of the Burger GPS (the iPhone app which helps you find the best burgers anywhere in the USA), and now host of the Travel Channel’s “Burger Land.”

Too bad Mr. Motz was not able to visit Press’s in Pageland, SC, before it closed. His burgers were the best I ever ate. I have fond memories of stopping by his diner after cheerleader practices, school, or ball games, and I always had a burger and fries. Press didn’t use pre-formed patties. He made his burgers by hand, and I’ve never figured out exactly what he put on them, but they were fantastic. Whatever his secret was, it disappeared with him, and his diner has been replaced by Burger King, Hardee’s, and McDonald’s. It’s just not the same anymore.

6 thoughts on “The Hamburgers of My Childhood

  1. becky44

    I love a good hamburger! Nowadays, I prefer to make them at home and wrap them in lettuce rather than a bun, but it still tastes awesome!! It’s the topping that make the burger…lettuce, tomato, pickles, ketchup, and mustard for me please:)

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I like making mine with pita bread, too. I also like to put onion-mushroom soup mix in the meat and blend it well before I shape my patties. The George Foreman grill is my favorite.

      Like

      Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Mrs. Kohler made orange flips, too, just like in Mayberry, R.F.D. When I worked at the shoe store, I always went there for lunch.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Susan Kaye

    I grew up in Coeur d’ Alene, Idaho. This is the home of a tiny place called Hudson’s Hamburgers. My dad took me there decades ago and I was fascinated. The cook just took a wad of ground beef, put it on the grill and formed the patty right there. Counter seating only. And crowded even then.

    BTB, I love shows that focus on one item. We have “Sandwiches You Will Like,” “The Ice Cream Show,” And “A Hot Dog Program,” all by Rick Sebeck. I’ll have to scout out this guy.

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

